Posted in Family

His Eye is on the Sparrow – and on the homeless man – you – me

We

often see him  at the gas station, walking down the sidewalk, and a couple of days ago, in McDonald’s.  He greets and smiles at people.  He makes most people nervous and avoid eye contact.  He smells.11650727_10153477225120439_1192076113_n (2)

He is our local homeless man. He is usually looking for pop cans, digging through the trash at the gas station, grocery store or along the streets.  Sometimes he is pushing a small cart.

This particular morning, I was stressed. Our situation with one car and the kids needing and wanting to go everywhere during the summer, me dealing with a knee that tells me I can’t do it all, and the joy gets sucked out.  I was having a private pity party at McDonald’s while my husband ordered us some senior coffees.  Yup, feeling old too.

And then he sat down across from me.  And my pity party dissolved.  He probably just turned in pop cans.  His pants were too torn to carry a wallet.  So, he carried his money in a plastic grocery bag. He was smiling. So were his eyes. If he can smile and have joy, where’s mine? I carry a large purse with my laptop, wallet, essential oils, cell phone, etc.  My nails were polished (and chipping) and he wore gloves someone probably gave him for while he looks for pop cans.  And I was complaining about a car and being tired and how to do it all.

A McDonald’s employee brought him over a coffee and breakfast meal.  Someone blessed him with it. His eyes shined more as he opened up a simple breakfast sandwich he did not have to use his pop can money with. God provided for this man.  I have seen over and over how He has provided for us.

An old hymn comes to mind, my dad used to sing . . .

Whenever I am tempted, whenever clouds arise,
When songs give place to sighing, when hope within me dies,
I draw the closer to Him, from care He sets me free;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me;
His eye is on the sparrow, and I know He watches me.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 33 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ Homeschool mama of 26 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

One thought on “His Eye is on the Sparrow – and on the homeless man – you – me

Leave a comment