Posted in In Other Words

In Other Words: God is the Ruler yet

Verse 3 of the hymn, "This Is My Father’s World" by Maltbie D. Babcock
Verse 3 of the hymn, "This Is My Father’s World" by Maltbie D. Babcock

T

oday history is being made.   It  will be etched in our minds forever.  I remember clearly when  President Ronald Regan left office,  waving as he entered the plane, and then the plane circling around the White House, as if to say, good-bye.

There is a lot of fear, especially among Christians with the entering of our new President.    These are uncertain times, and there is indeed need to be on our knees praying for our country AND our president.  Obama’s choice to have a gay bishop (another article here) to pray before the inaugural address to the “God of our many understandings”, is so sad.  Does  the one and  only God weep over our nation today? Tomorrow I will be sharing more on FOCA, the Freedom of Choice Act, which President-Elect Obama wants to be on the top of his list to pass.  It’s scary.  It will affect our stand on abortion if it passes.

This picture hangs in the Capitol.  May it be a reminder to pray.
This picture hangs in the Capitol. May it be a reminder to pray.

Yet, despite all the uncertainties and fears, God is still in control.  He is sitting on the throne, and knows what our future holds.  If God can make the world, throw all the stars in the skies, have my daughter at the hospital just when she went into heart failure, keep a friend safe whose tire went flying off her car while driving on slippery roads, He can and is still in control of our country and our president.  It does not mean we not do anything.  We have battles to fight.  We need to let those in government positions know of our concerns.  We need to pray for God to heal our land. Jesus died on the cross for President Obama just as He did for you and me. He wants his soul as He wants ours.

Though the wrong may seem so strong,
aren’t you thankful
GOD
IS
the Ruler yet?
Pray for President-Elect Obama

Today I am hosting In Other Words.  If you have written on the above quote on your blog, be sure to leave a link with Mr. Linky below to your blog and visit the others who have also joined.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 33 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ Homeschool mama of 26 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

11 thoughts on “In Other Words: God is the Ruler yet

  1. My church used this hymn during the past 8 years to give us strength to carry on under Bush, whose policies of torture and whose haste to war tempted me to despair of God’s mercies here on Earth. I had to share since it seems we’re trading off coping mechanisms for the time being. I will continue to pray for our nation’s ability to come together in love despite our many differing opinions.

  2. Loni, this was an excellent post. If I didn’t know for sure that God was in control, I would flip my lid in anger and sadness over the state of the world today. As it is, I’m so glad that this world is not my home. Praying and praising…Laurie Ann

  3. This is a great post! I will be praying for Obama and his family. I will be looking forward to reading your post on FOCA.

  4. Loni,
    Amen, dear Sister. Thank you for sharing your heart and taking a brave stand in speaking truth. Thanks, too, for all of the information. I had not heard about the bishop giving the prayer, so I am glad you shared this with us.

    Blessings,
    Tracy

  5. Great thoughts…during the campaign I kept Psalm 146:3 in mind.

    “Put not your trust in princes, in a son of man, in whom there is no salvation.”

    After watching this week’s festivities, I hope and pray others will have changed hearts and realize there is no salvation in any man !

    God bless 🙂

Leave a comment