Posted in Family, In Other Words

In Other Words: Deer & Angels

W

henever we go into town near dusk, our younger kids will beg for us to go the “deer way”.  It’s along dirt roads and by several lakes and then in one particular area we always see deer.  Sometimes there will be 40 deer, just grazing in the alfalfa field.  We pause, watching.  There are times they just stay eating as they watch us in return, but if one runs across the road to the wooded area, the rest follow.  This happened one day this past summer when our youngest daughter who is five was with us.  We had to stop completely to let them all cross over.  We could see the deer in the woods, peering around the trees watching us, probably hoping we’d leave so they could go back to the alfalfa field.  With eyes of wonder, our daughter in a whispered awe said, “They’re like angels . . . watching us.”  So simple – yet so profound.

We do not participate with Halloween.  I hate it more each year.  When our oldest children were young, it seemed innocent. I made outfits for them – one year our boys were pumpkins and our twin girls were Hershey Kisses.  They were quite adorable.  But as time went on, we saw more and more evilness with it, and were convicted not to particiate in something that is seriously celebrated by “real” witches.  Halloween is a for real, sacred day for those who follow Wicca and is one of the two high and holy days for them. Their belief of spirits being released is current, along with the worship of Samhain (the lord of death) – both are promoted as something to embrace on that day.  I want to run from it.  I don’t like taking our kids into the stores around this time.  I don’t like taking my kids into town when the trick or treating is going on.  I hate the commercials that come on when watching the “good” shows.  I am concerned of the spiritual battlefields we are walking through.  And then, I think of this verse, and the deer angels watching us! 

There is just so much we can do as Christians protecting our children.  I can keep them away from as much evilness as possible, but even as with the death of our son, it sneeks in . . . and there is nothing we can do.  BUT, I can give them over to God (again) . . . and ask God to strengthen my faith (again) and try not to take them all back (again) to do this on my own.  And when I get so overwhelmed and worried of the kind of world my children are growing up in and what their futures may entail . . . I think of those deer . . . and the angels that surround us. 

Could we really be better protected?

Today I am hosting In Other Words.  Come back on Friday to read the new quote for next Tuesday and who will be hosting it.  In the meantime, share about this verse on your blog and then leave your blog link in the Mr. Linky box below.  A comment (above) would be nice too!  🙂

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 33 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ Homeschool mama of 26 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

12 thoughts on “In Other Words: Deer & Angels

  1. Art Linkletter was right…kids relly DO say the cutest things! Growing up in Minnesota, I used to love sitting out in the woods this time of year and watching the white tails herd up.

    I’m on the other side of the fence on the issue of Halloween, but agree with you 100% that we need to turn our kids’ lives over to God and trust He knows what He’s doing. It’s not easy, but who ever said it should be?

    The other side of that, of course, is that there’s no free lunch and we need to do the work – not only in teaching our kids but in helping them create the world they’re going to live in.

    Knowing God is always there sure does help, doesn’t it! Thanks for a nice reminder of that.

  2. I enjoyed reading your thoughts on these verses. I also loved the visual of the still deer. Like you said, it was as if they were watching so they could see if they could go on eating or not – carefully watching. I picture angels watching carefully in that way – so that they can be there if they are needed. That’s so cool!

    I agree on the Halloween thing. We just ignore it. But we do pray against the evil associated with it. I’m not sure why Christians build alternative activities for that evening…we don’t do that with any other anti-Christian holiday, but Oh well – to each his own (most of us don’t even celebrate Jewish holidays, which would make more sense). I don’t believe that is sinful or wrong in any way…I just don’t quite get it!

    Thanks for sharing Loni.

  3. We can’t protect our kids enough. Politicsns talk of spreading the wealth we need to spread the hope of Jesus Christ. Our kids need to see it at work in our lives while they learn how to apply it to their own lives. No matter how young or old we all need Jesus to fight the evil this world promotes.

  4. Thank you so much for hosting this meme. I love it. The verse you chose for this week was timely and one of great reassurance to me. I really enjoyed your post on this topic and learned a lot from your words of wisdom. I am inspired by the stand you take to guard your family from evil. We are changing our customs this year regarding Halloween – we used to have a big party. It’s something I’ve confessed and repented for and now I’m choosing to go the better way on it. Thanks again for a thought-provoking, heart stirring post!

  5. Thanks for such a great post! I too “hate” Halloween. I do not understand celebrating evil. We do attend harvest festivals. But, I try to stay away from the appearance of evil. It’s a tough call to make. But, thank you for the reminder that the angels are always keeping watch over us. Have a great day!

  6. This was a wonderful choice of Scripture today. Thank you! I am in total agreement with your stand on H. with children. It’s a hard line to walk – but I beleive God’s Word in I Thess. 5:22:
    “Abstain from all appearance of evil.”
    Happy IOW Tuesday!
    -esthermay

  7. Thank you Loni for hosting this meme. Your quote was awesome. We cannot protect our children enough. Both of mine are adults and married but I still have that incredible desire to protect them from hardships of life. I know that is impossible but I pray for them everyday and ask God to cover their lives with His blood. Thanks for sharing today from your heart. Awesome post.

  8. It is such a blessing to connect with other moms who share so much in common, and who have many of the same values about our families and raising our children. I’ve never been comfortable with the celebration of evil this time of year. Celebrate autumn, the harvest, the changing seasons . . . . but keep it focused on our Heavenly Father and His good gifts, and not allow our minds to be filled with the destructive ideas of evil. Thanks so much for hosting this week, and for bringing our focus back to the protection that we have in His love and grace. Nina

  9. Thank you for hosting this week Loni. We don’t celebrate halloween either, but its not a big deal here. There are not the pressures here to participate, we don’t get loads of children coming round our doors, at most, we get one or two groups. Its just not done here, thank goodness.

Leave a comment