Posted in Books, Family, REVIEW, Writings & Poems

Book Review: In Faithfulness He Afflicted Me

It really is a very difficult and awkward thing to try to comfort a hurting person, especially if you’ve never experienced their particular sort of pain. I know that I’ve said the wrong things before to others who were hurt, but since I’ve experienced three painful losses, I’ve also encountered my share of less than helpful words . . . As I think back to the comments made, I don’t feel the same way about them now . . . I was hurting so desperately that I didn’t have the strength to understand the heart behind the comments or forgive the words that were carelessly chosen.

 Lynnette Kraft,
In Faithfulness, He Afflicted Me

L

ynnette’s desire in writing this book, In Faithfulness, He Afflicted Me was to encourage others to trust in her faithful and loving Creator, and to see how their trials and heartaches can be used for God’s glory, bringing joy and a beautiful outcome.  In just sharing the quote above, you do not know what losses she has gone through. Even if you have not gone through a loss or dark days in your life, you know others around you have.  I invite you to read Lynnette’s book to help increase your faith and know how to encourage and walk along side others.  

I first met Lynnette when our daughter, Jessica, had her open heart surgeries through an e-mail list for parents with children with heart defects (PDHeart). Lynnette was pregnant with her daughter, Anna, knowing she could possibly go through the same ordeal as we did.  Our daughter spent 10 weeks in ICU with two open heart surgeries and two weeks after we brought her home, our next daughter, Angela Hope was stillborn at 36 weeks.  Lynnette’s life journey is very similar and I so appreciate her sharing her story.  

Lynnette is a blessed mom with nine children, but knows the heartache of saying good-bye to three of these precious gifts.  Two of them were baby boys she only had a matter of days.  Her precious daughter, Anna died at the young age of 6, in November of 2004, just a matter of weeks before our 16 year old son died.  The six years of her life besides her surgeries were rather uneventful, so her death was quite unexpected.

To be honest reading through the first chapter of In Faithfulness, He Afflicted Me was most painful.  It’s still one of my first fears, when I am not giving her over to the Lord, of losing another child, especially Jessica who though is doing well . . . we just never know.  I wept with Lynnette knowing her pain AND her peace. I see how the afflictions God has allowed her to go through is reminiscent of what Job said (Job 23:10-11):

But He knows the way that I take;
when He has tested me, I will come forth as gold.
My feet have closely followed his steps;
I have kept to his way without turning asid

Lynnette’s story is real – of real life – of real pain.  Whether you have lost a child or not, I invite you to read her book.  A chapter of your life may be breast cancer, a divorce, loss of a job or a child with severe disabilities.  You will see God shinning through Lynnette from grief to joy and most of all victory!  

What do I consider a victory in heartache? Victory is when you can forge ahead with a feeling of excitement for the future, not just tolerating it or being okay with it, but truly anticipating great things.  I began to realize that not only had God worked, but He would continue to do so.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

3 thoughts on “Book Review: In Faithfulness He Afflicted Me

  1. I’d like to receive this book for myself (though I’d share with others) because circumstances in my life, and an estranged husband, have yearning for the reminder that the Lord is faithful in all things. (I, unfortunately, do not have a blog at this time.)

  2. This sounds like a book I need to read. At this time we are going through some medical challenges with our daughter. She has many issues that are not fixable. I know God is with us but its hard to see him through the tears.

Leave a Reply

