Posted in In Other Words

In Other Words ~ His Plans

 

This has been one of those “hang on to” verses through the ups and downs of life.  But it became more real to me through a recent Bible study of Abraham.  There’s so much I could share that touched me but re-visiting Abraham’s life, seeing the mistakes he made, and yet, seeing God stay with His covenant with him. God did indeed know the plans He had for him, and it was certainly to take care of him.  And He did for us way back then too as we see the imprint of the coming of Jesus, His death on the cross, through Abraham.  The picture of Abraham’s son, Isaac carrying the wood of the sacrifice up Mt. Moriah is an image of Jesus carrying wood, the cross on His back.  The ram caught in the thicket was not the real sacrifice.  It took place later.  It was instead the Lamb of God, God’s son, not Abraham’s son.  Yet Jesus know that His sacrifice would cost His life – and His sacrifice accomplished what no other kind of sacrifice could even come close to accomplishing – eternal salvation for all willing to accept.

Life’s has it’s questions of uncertainties and whys, but along with God having His plans for our lives, He also promises,

“I WILL NEVER DESERT YOU, NOR WILL I EVER FORSAKE YOU,”
so that we can confidently say,
“THE LORD IS MY HELPER, I WILL NOT BE AFRAID.
WHAT WILL MAN DO TO ME?”
Hebrews 13:5,6 

I so appreciate the verses to our quote for this week in the NASB – a few verses after.  May this encourage you:

‘For I know the plans that I have for you,’ declares the LORD,
‘plans for welfare and not for calamity to give you a future and a hope.
‘Then you will call upon Me and come and pray to Me,
and I will listen to you.
‘You will seek Me and find Me
when you search for Me with all your heart. . .’ 
Jeremiah 29:11-13 

This week, Susan is hosting “In ‘Other’ Words” at her site, “Forever His“. Be sure to visit her site and the links to the other women who have shared on this quote.  Then come back here on Friday, for next Tuesday’s new quote for In ‘Other’ Words.
Be blessed.

~

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 33 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ Homeschool mama of 26 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

11 thoughts on “In Other Words ~ His Plans

  1. Loni…I love how it says…“I WILL NEVER DESERT YOU, NOR WILL I EVER FORSAKE YOU,”
    so that we can confidently say,
    “THE LORD IS MY HELPER, I WILL NOT BE AFRAID.
    WHAT WILL MAN DO TO ME?”
    Not I’ll occasionally be out of town, or unable to answer your prayer….It reminds us that “He will NEVER desert us or forsake us…” Now in that I find comfort…
    Thanks for taking this over….the first day is going great!!
    peace,
    lori

  2. Loni, this was incredible! What a gift you have, your writing always causes me to think, to ponder and consider.

    Oh, THANK GOD for the price that was paid for the promise we have received in those comforting words found in Jeremiah.

    Blessings to you my friend♥

  3. For some reason, my blog link I tried to leave in the last post didn’t come out right, so I’ll comment again under this account. Like I said, I’d love to host In Other Words sometime!

  4. This is a great post! I love the parallel between Abraham’s sacrifice and Christ. God’s plans are always for our own good and I love being reminded of that verse.

  5. Loni,

    Well said, and well done on this week’s meme. I love how you used the context of Jeremiah 29:11 to tie it all together. His plans bring us to a place where we call on Him, rely on Him and seek Him out with all our heart and that is just where we find Him – faithful to all His plans.

    Blessings.

  6. Loni, I always love reading what you write…. I think of you often even when I do not comment. 🙂

    Lately, I have been thinking about where does the time go… you know? My youngest will be 5 in a few weeks. Life just goes on…. sometimes even when we want it to stop. 😦 You are a great testimony of how you perserve…. one step at a time… with Him as your Rock.

    blessings,
    Teena

Leave a comment