Posted in Faith, Family, Jessica & her heart

Urgent Prayer Request – My daugher having open heart surgery NOW

Ihave not written as much on my blog lately on personal things, but come to my readers asking for you to pray for my daughter as she is having emergency open heart surgery as I write this.

Shortly before surgery
Shortly before surgery

This past summer we discovered she has hemi-vertebrae, where 50% of one vertebrea is missing.  She has been in a great deal of pain.  We had an appointment for this morning with an orthopedic surgeon to decide the next move.  We arrived at the hotel last night.  We took Jessica into the hospital to show here where she was 11 years ago at this time when she had two open heart surgeries and found out one of her main nurses will be on tonight but were disappointed we’d not see her.

We went back to our hotel room and got ready for bed. Jessica began having a hard time breathing and her heart was beating very rapidly and hard – which we could see across the room.  We thought it might be panic attacks or a reaction to Tylenol PM which she just began taking.  We walked her around, and then she said something to me, the song keeps coming in my mind that someday there will be no more pain, tears or sorrow.  God prompted our hearts – we knew something was definitely wrong – and I had an idea it was her heart.

We got her right away into ER and they were beyond wonderful.  It was first discovered she has double pneumonia – and later learned it was because of the mitral valve she had replaced 11 years ago was failing, causing leaking into her lungs. Her oxygen levels were at 85% without getting oxygen.  Her heart rates were very rapid, many times up to 120.

We are so thankful God allowed us to be here now, at the right time. It blows our minds of just His perfect timing and protection. Our fist appt. was scheduled for Jan. 7th, but because of her back pain was moved up. “In everything give thanks” and I am thankful for her back pain that got us here sooner. We questioned so many times why this was not discovered years ago with her back. Thank God it was not discovered.

She was taken into surgery about 2:30 – heart wrenching. She asked me several times “what if I don’t make it”. I told her I believe that God has her so surrounded in His hands to allow this to play out like this that I don’t believe He’d allow her to go. But she asked again – and again. Finally I said, “Jessica if you go, you give Matthew & Angela a big hug for me – and before you know it, you will turn around and there we will be.”  We told her repeatedly how many are praying for her and the surgeons and the host of angels that are in that surgery room.

We have had wonderful docs, nurses and cardiolgists here. Several had tears with us. One cardiologist has been very sweet and was one of her cards 11 years ago. The other thing is last night before settling in our room, we took Jessica for a walk to see the Peds Cardiology dept. where she spent 10 weeks end of 1997 – early 1998. We found out one of her main nurses will be on tonight. So we are hopeful she will care for her again.

Our hearts are breaking. Yes, we fear. I try not to imagine the what ifs – but it’s there too. Please pray. Pray for our kids at home. Heather is with us. Norm is struggling (and I worry about his heart).  He is quite anxious right now, pacing about.  We also had not planned this and had rented a car – so we have got to get this back. We only brought one change of clothes and forgot our phone chargers. These are minor, comparatively.

I will update as I can.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 33 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ Homeschool mama of 26 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

2 thoughts on “Urgent Prayer Request – My daugher having open heart surgery NOW

  1. Lord God, please be with Loni and family, giving them tremendous peace and comfort as they deal with all of this. Please guide the hands of the surgeons and give Jessica strength and healing. Please rally all of those who know the family to gather round and give all of the help and encouragement they can. In Jesus Precious Name, Amen!

Leave a comment