Posted in Family, In Other Words

In Other Words: Pressing Forward

 

 “Still, accepting God’s existence is one thing; honoring his command is another matter entirely, especially if we’re required to go back when we’d rather go forward.”

~Liz Curtis Higgs
from Slightly Bad Girls of the Bible~

The beauty of writing on these quotes each week is each woman’s interpretations, and we come from all different approaches.  I’ve not read the book, and do not know the specifics of what the author was writing about.  I am writing it from “my” viewpoint, because I know for me, it’s something God has been working on my heart with.

I’ve been required to go forward, not back as this author shared.  This what God wants “me” to do – and God may have something else for you.  Sometimes we do need to go back to work through it, and work it out for the future.  I’ve shared a lot about my son who passed away almost four years ago . . . and though we go back often to share and bring awareness, I don’t want to “stay” there.  I don’t want to grieve anymore.  I want that joy in the morning.  I know God wants that – and I know even my son who bathes in His glory would want that.  There’s another area I don’t share about too much, because I don’t know who all reads this.  God has removed the bitterness and anger and given hope and newness.

My adoptive mom and I did not click – or as it would be modernly said now, we did not bond.  It was a rough childhood and for many years beyond.  We never completely mended our hurts.  There was no reconciliation during her last year of life as she fought the cancer battle, though I know she read my cards and she knew I loved her.  She died seven months before my son.  The strange thing is I’ve not had one dream of my son since his death.  How I longed for it – to see his face, to hear him talk, to hold him in my dream, to tell him I loved him and forgave him.  But I know he knew that.  There really was not that need.  With my mom, it was all unresolved.  God blessed me with a dream of her.  We were sitting at a table, and though I don’t remember our conversation, there was healing ~ there was reconciliation.    We talked, we laughed, we looked in each others eyes, we touched . . .  She was healed.  I was healed.  Truth was so vividly revealed to me.  When I take my last breath here, and take the first one in heaven, and see her again, there will be no turning away from each other.  Our bodies are not just new, but our minds and emotions as well.  The “sorrys” will not have to be said.  It’s all gone. 

God has allowed me to move forward from much of my childhood.  Sadness still passes through at times, and missing the mom I wish I would have had in my life – but then God reminds me of the brieviety of this life and it won’t really matter in heaven.  Keep moving forward – look forward to heaven. 

“Not that I have already obtained it or have already become perfect, but I press on so that I may lay hold of that for which also I was laid hold of by Christ Jesus. Brethren, I do not regard myself as having laid hold of it yet; but one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and reaching forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.”  Phil 3:12-14

 

I am thankful God has required me to move forward.     

This week, Miriam is hosting “In ‘Other’ Words” at her site, Miriam Pauline’s Monologue.  Be sure to visit her site and the links to the other women who have shared on this quote.  Then come back here on Friday, for next Tuesday’s new quote for In ‘Other’ Words.  Be

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

9 thoughts on “In Other Words: Pressing Forward

  1. Loni,

    This is such a transparent and insightful post. I know what you mean. I think I forgot to include my links back here so I will go and fix that post haste… But, you did well with this post and I agree, one of the splendid things about IOW is the way we all approach it from our different bents, experiences and viewpoints. God is faithful and beautifully coordinates each week’s selection.

    Blessings.

  2. Loni, this is great! I pray that you are able to continue to move forward. Moving forward without dwelling on regret is so important.

    In some ways we did write of the same things, because a call to go “home” would be to revisit issues in family that have been forgiven but can never be “perfected.” God has given me peace that I’ve done all I can or have been called to do at this time, but some day the hearts may be different there and I’ll be asked to go. I want to be ready to say yes.

  3. Loni: Such a lovely and personal post. I too love that verse in Phil. 3. Pressing On! Where would any of us be if we didn’t!? Faith in Jesus has to be blind. That’s where my thoughts first went when I saw the quote last week. You did a wonderful job putting it “In Other Words.” Love this meme!
    Kindest Thoughts,
    Esthermay

  4. Loni, you always touch my heart with your words. I have an unresolved relationship as well. My hope would be that I get the same opportunity in heaven that you will have with your mom. Unfortunately, I may not get that with my grandfather. I don’t know his spiritual state when he died. My dad clings to the last few words his father spoke as evidence of a conversion to Christ. Only God knows…and thankfully, in heaven there is no more sorrow…so even if the relationship remained unresolved here, I will have peace either way some day.

    Thanks for being so real.

  5. It seems to me God has asked you to go back a few times, back to the sorrow of loss and grief. And you go there with a heart seeking to honor Him above anything else. May He continue to heal your hurts, Loni.

Leave a Reply

