Posted in Books, Faith, Family, Grief, In Other Words, Meme

In ‘Other’ Words: Suffering: Shining us like Gold (intro to Mary Beth Chapman’s Book)

Only when we understand that God has ordained our suffering
can we begin to make sense of it.

Only then can we be certain that He has a purpose in it.
When tragedy comes, when adversity strikes,

we will not be shaken.
Yes, we will cry. Yes, we will grieve.
But we will move on confidently
knowing that God is on His throne,
that we are in His hand,
that our circumstances are His
doing,
and that He is working them for our good.”

~Terry L. Johnson, When Grace Comes Home

I have been watching and reading over the past two years Mary Beth Chapman’s (wife to Steven Curtis Chapman) blog, after the loss of their little girl, Maria. I’ve seen a broken-hearted woman share the deep pain in her heart, that does not end after two years, but she continues sharing in public places, giving of herself:

I’m really operating out of my weakness.  I feel that God has this season for me, but I never would have imagined it!  Please, pray for me as I have a short amount of time and I long for Jesus to be seen and heard as I share from broken, dark places of my life. (April 28, 2010 post)

The beginning of this year she stepped out in faith again, beginning to write a book, which I will be reviewing soon here on my blog.

How does God use the death of a child for His glory? I know the Chapman family would so desire to rewind to before May 21, 2008, just as we wish we could rewind to before December 11, 2004 . . . many times, but not all the time.  I do not wish the pain upon anyone . . . I wish we did not have to endure the pain ourselves, but I’ve seen God use it, give more time to young kids in stopping the game that killed my son.  The Chapmans have used their pain to reach out to others, to build Maria’s Big House of Hope, a 6 story building that will be equipped to care of orphans five years or younger with special needs which represents some of the neediest orphans in China.  I often wonder someday with my own son, when we are in heaven, who will also be there because of his death.  Isn’t this worth it all for eternities perspective?

Though I do believe we can be shaken and question, God is unmoveable and unshakeable.  We’ve fallen in a pit wondering if we will ever see the light of day again, but as we look, we continually find purpose in it, knowing God has not left us or forsaken us, and He is working it all out for our good.

“But He knoweth the way that I take:
when He hath tried me,
I shall come forth as gold”

(Job 23:10)

As I was about to wrap up writing this post, the mail arrived, along with MaryBeth Chapman’s book to review, Choosing to SEE: A Journey of Struggle and Hope, that will come out September 1st.  I’ve read a few pages, tears already stinging my eyes.  I saw this written on a side page, and thought this wraps up this quote well.

This is not how it should be
This is not how it could be
But this is how it is
And how our God is in control

This is not how it will be
When we finally will SEE
We’ll SEE with our own eyes
He was always in control.

This is not where we planned to be
When we started this journey
But this is where we are
And our God is in control

Though this first taste is bitter
There will be sweetness forever
When we finally taste and SEE
That our God is in control

“Our God is in Control”
Words and music by
Steven Curtis Chapman
and Mary Beth Chapman

(p. 149 of the book Choosing to SEE)

Today’s In ‘Other’ Words is hosted by Jennifer on her blog, Scraps & Snippets . Join us and see how others have written on the above quote.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 33 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ Homeschool mama of 26 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

3 thoughts on “In ‘Other’ Words: Suffering: Shining us like Gold (intro to Mary Beth Chapman’s Book)

  1. Loni…Thank you as always for sharing your heart. Our situations are very different, but the words you share out of your suffering always resonate clearly with me. I didn’t know Mary Beth had a blog…I look forward to having time to read there. Their testimony and music since Maria’s death has impacted me greatly. We serve an awesome God who can bring such beauty from such pain! And I am thankful…

  2. Truly God has asked you to walk through the kind of pain the rest of us pray we never experience. I praise God He holds you close and shows you the good He can bring out of a horrifying situation. Thank you for staying faithful, Loni. You bring our Lord much glory by doing so.

Leave a comment