Posted in Baby, Family, Grief, Wednesdays Walk

Wednesday Walk: Remembering My Baby & Aborted Babies

These past several weeks you have joined me in watching a miracle unfold before us.  Eleven years ago tomorrow, we also were part of another miracle.  One little life went to heaven; my life was miraculously spared.

It was just three weeks after we brought Jessica home from her eleven week stay in ICU after two open heart surgeries, many of those weeks near death’s door.   I took Jessica to her cardiologist for a post-op check-up.  I was 36 weeks pregnant with our 8th child.

We were barely in the cardiologist’s office when I thought my water broke, to find out I was hemorrhaging.  I was rushed next door to the adjoining hospital and within a few minutes an ultrasound showed that our  little baby girl, Angela Hope, was already with her Creator, seeing His face before mine – touching His hands before mine.

An emergency c-section was done to save my life.  After the surgery I asked my doctor if I’d be able to have more children and he told me “God will fill your quiver.”  Later I was told that had any other doctor done my surgery, I would have most certainly had a hysterectomy.  This doctor valued life – before it even began.

Angela Hope died January 22, 1998, the 25th anniversary date of Roe vs. Wade.  I will never forget driving to the cemetery, and looking behind us as we were coming down a hill, seeing all the cars following us.  Her short life was being honored and remembered.  I thought of all the aborted babies being thrown away, trying to be forgotten by mothers,  fathers, doctors, nurses, etc.  I made a commitment that day that I would would not let her death be in vain and that I would remember aborted babies too.  For quite a few years on special occasions I would still buy that special Easter dress or Christmas dress I would have gotten for her and donated it to a prolife pregnancy center.  We tried to do something in her memory and memory of others who lost babies and children, along with remembering aborted babies on Sanctity of Life Sunday in our church.  But as the years have passed, I’ve neglected in doing as much.  It was renewed this past  Sanctity of Life Sunday at church,  as I heard about a new law that is trying to be passed.

Do you know about FOCA – the Freedom of Choice Act? I had heard “something” of it, but sometimes we get so bombarded with one law after the other, it’s easy to become numb and just let it pass, not giving it another thought.  We need to give this great thought, and take some quick action.

Information below in red was quoted from here.

If FOCA passes, it will “sweep away hundreds of anti-abortion laws [and] policies.”  Here are just a few:

  • Christian doctors and nurses will be sued if they refuse to participate in abortions.
  • Religious hospitals will be forced to do abortions or shut down.
  • Babies will be aborted up until the day of birth.
  • States will have no say in any abortion law.
  • Military hospitals would now be required to provide abortion the same as any other health procedure.
  • Abortions would no longer have to be performed by licenses physicians.
  • All informed consent laws would be overturned; all parental notification laws would be nullified; all laws requiring a waiting period before abortion would be eliminated.

President Obama was quoted as saying,

“The first thing I’d do as president is sign the Freedom of Choice Act. That’s the first thing that I’d do.

So, what can WE do?

As my pastor said this past Sunday, we need to step out of the stained glass windows of our church, and the safety in our homes.  We need for this to trouble us greatly. We need to fight for our children and our children’s children, for safety in our doctor’s offices and hospitals.  We need to protect life even before it begins.

Today as I (and many of my readers) participate in Wednesday’s Walk Down Memory Lane, think of what we want to remember by the stand we take today, that makes memories for tomorrow.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 33 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ Homeschool mama of 26 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

10 thoughts on “Wednesday Walk: Remembering My Baby & Aborted Babies

  1. Amen Loni! What a touching post. I’m thinking of Angela Hope with you today. I’m remembering my little Josiah Kent who was born on Jan. 15th, 1995 and died on Jan. 20th. I’m remembering all of the aborted babies who never had a chance at life and suffered a painful, heart-wrenching death. It’s so easy, as you said, to just deal with the every day duties and forget to fight for our rights as Christians – for babies rights as human beings. I vow to work harder to make a difference in my service to Christ – not just for me, but for my children and grandchildren.
    Thank you for sharing that information Loni. It was very helpful and motivating.
    Love,
    Lynnette

  2. Wow…such a powerful encouragement to fight for well deserved value to be given to life. I’m so glad that there are still people out there who will take life seriously and treat it with the care and love that it is rightfully owed.

    Praising God for your little blessing who was able to touch the hands of Jesus before any others. What an incredible gift she has been given!

    In His arms,
    –Abigail

  3. Wow, I had no idea about that act. In my younger, naive days, I used to feel that while I would never have an abortion, that other women should have the right to. Now I wonder what in the world ever made me think that way!?! If a baby is conceived, then God has a plan and a purpose for that child. I just don’t understand how it suddenly becomes our right to decide that a child should die. Why I ever thought that was okay, I will never know. I do know that there is a wonderful pregnancy resource center here in my town that is doing wonderful things.

    Thank you for sharing memories of your little Angela with us.

  4. Angela Hope is a beautiful name!

    Your post was particularly poignant to me as I’ve felt God calling me to get involved in the area of pregnancy crisis support and possibly post-abortion counselling. Thank you for sharing this information,
    lynette x

  5. Thank you for this information Loni. As a nurse, I would not want to participate in abortions and I’d hate for any nurse to have to be concerned about being sued. You’ve been through so much in your life. How touching to read about your precious baby Angela Hope. You will see her one day.

  6. Dear Loni,

    My heart aches for you as I am one of those women to chose to end a life not only once, but twice. Although I accepted Christ at age 14 while in foster care, upon returning home I had no Christian support and was lost to exile for years to come. After almost 20 years, my relationship is now closer with God than it was when I accepted Him. Through Jesus Christ alone, I am forgiven.
    I recently fought for an unborn child’s life, one belonging to my own daughter, and with a sheild of faith given by God, He won! My daughter is now almost 6 months pregnant. Both she and the baby’s father recently saved, serving God and are now soon to be wed. There is now doubt God REIGNS in our home!
    I applaude you and thank you for presenting the facts and information.

    Please share with anyone you meet who is considering ending life that there is indescribable bondage that comes with that choice and they will forever be in chains without God’s mercy.

Leave a comment