Posted in Faith, In Other Words

In Other Words: Living Our Faith

“A family without a commitment to the God of the Bible has no hope of stemming the tide of cultural onslaught. If we mix a little biblical truth, a little secular physchology, a little romance novel idology, and a little eastern mysticism, we will get a deadly mixture of lies. Unfortunately, this is what many Christian families do . . . If we are to experience multigeneraltional faithfulness we must come to a place where we throw off the shackles of our culture and live in the fullness that is found only in Christ. We must be people who live the Word in our homes.”
by Voddie T. Baucham, Jr. ~ from his book,
Family Driven Faith:  Doing What it Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk With the Lord

I

am not claiming authority or having it all together with this quote.  As I shared in a previous post, this book Family Driven Faith:  Doing What it Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk With the Lordby Voddie T. Baucham, Jr. is quite a convicting, heart-pounding book, and the above quote is just a part that struck me – something I hope that in new 2008 year can prove to work on.

 I don’t know about you, but we are seeing many families falling part.  Christian families that you’d never expect their children to go astray.  After losing our son, it’s been quite evident to us to see how satan seems to be working overtime on getting the boys – the future leaders of Christian homes, families and our country.   Last week I shared how the author of this book states that even though many teens profess to be Christians yet by the end of their freshman year of college, 88% of them walk away from their faith.    That’s scary. I have ten living children.  How do my children fit into this statistic?  What about Christian families that have one, two or three children?  This quote can be quite personal.  It’s my hope it can be and mind provoking for yourself as well.

So what can we do to keep our children following God?  Do they see our faith lived daily, our dependence upon God and want to follow that?  Do they see us reading God’s Word and praying other than at the dinner table or bedtime, and not just dusting off our Bibles on Sundays?  Do they see us encouraging each other, loving each other, not gossiping?  When life is hard, when bills pile up, when we wonder how we are going to make it through yet another valley, though we may show our emotions, do they still see our leaning upon God – crying out to God?  Do they notice when we fail – and when we admit it? Do our children really understand that God cares about what we pray for, from the salvation of our loved ones, to the little things – like the healing of a kitten.  Do they hear us talking to God along the way, singing praises to Him, putting Him first?  It’s not just my children, but my future children’s children I need to be continuing to lead to God.

These words, which I am commanding you today, shall be on your heart. You shall teach them diligently to your sons and shall talk of them when you sit in your house and when you walk by the way and when you lie down and when you rise up.  
Deuteronomy 6:6-7

I invite you to write your thoughts on the above quote on your blog.  When you have done so, please leave your name in the Mr. Linky box below.  I also invite you to share about this book Family Driven Faith: Doing What it Takes to Raise Sons and Daughters Who Walk With the Lordby Voddie T. Baucham, Jr. on your blog (even a quick blurb that this quote is from this book, which you can win from my blog is fine!).  You can read the book review here & enter for the drawing there as well.

With parents on their knees more, God’s word written on our hearts more,  living our faith more, and the help of a book such as this, maybe that statistic mentioned above can change for the better.  It’s for our children’s sake – eternities sake.

 

~
Stop by and read these women’s thoughts on the above quote and leave them a note!

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 33 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ Homeschool mama of 26 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

12 thoughts on “In Other Words: Living Our Faith

  1. Loni, I normally love Voddie Baucham. My husband and I have worked through his Ever Loving Truth curriculum. Although I haven’t read this book, Voddie has a podcast series by the same name that I have listened to. I have tried to make my home central to evangelizing my children. I like how Voddie points out principles from Scripture to follow and prayerfully consider how I can apply those principles in my home.

    I could not get past his ideas of secular psychology this week.

  2. Loni,
    I was amazed to read this quote for the week and when you read my post you’ll see why. I couldn’t agree more…we are in the battle of our lives…we are competing with a very enticing enemy who will do anything to get us to turn from God….
    thanks for sharing the quote and the book, I’m going to check it out today!!
    Have a great day!
    lori

  3. It is frightening to see how Satan is working overtime to destroy the family unit. Our kids need us more than ever to pass on God to them in a way that will reach our grandkids and every generation thereafter.

  4. Thank you for sharing this quote. I think I will find this book and make it a must read. This crazy world we live in can leave us feeling hopeless sometimes, but God is bigger and better then that…. He has equipped us for every good thing. Parenting is one of them. May God richly bless you today!

    Lisa

  5. Hey Loni,

    Great quote, great review of this book. I’m looking forward to reading it, or maybe winning it?

    Blessings to you my friend!

    ENTRY #5

  6. This is my first time joining on In other words tuesday. I’m looking forward to reading all the great posts I know are out there on this topic. Topics like this always bring me straight to the only hope I have…the cross!
    thanks for hosting it!
    ~sheila~

  7. Hi Loni!

    Indeed satan is at work to destroy families and what we can do is to protect our family with our faith and the word of God.

    Great post and great quote 🙂

    God bless!

  8. Loni–I have to say…this has never happened to me before…but I can’t get this book out of my brain. I have not read it yet…and if I don’t win, I am buying one immediately. For my children and me (even though my girls have families of their own..I still can benefit from the book!) This morning as I was getting ready, I always listen to a Focus on the Family interview/program and they were discussing some of these SAME ISSUES! I believe it is a necessary read.

    Thank you so much for sharing this with us! Sorry I couldn’t re-post today (work was so very hectic and it is 10:25 p.m. now and I have just gotten in and am headed to bed very shortly but HAD to tell you how much I feel this is needed!)
    God bless you Loni!

Leave a comment