Posted in Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: “Choose” HIM for Lent

CHOOSE

Start . . .

M

 y first thought with this week’s word, is the Scripture verse,

” . . . choose this day whom you will serve. . .
as for me and my house, we will serve the Lord.”

LENTI have been thinking seriously about something to  choose, for Lent . . . for God . . .  for my relationship with Him. Lent begins next Wednesday, March 5th.  In the past I did choose sugar or something relating to food, but in all actuality, it was more for me, hoping to lose weight. It did not help or hinder my relationship with Him.  

So I have been thinking and praying about how to choose Him this Lent.  What takes time away from Him that I can give up?  And I’ve been getting the poking and prodding over the last several days to give up . . . here I go . . . I may need encouragement . . . Facebook & Twitter on my phone – to disable it – no checking first thing in the morning or last thing at night. It may even extend to my computer.  I’m praying about it. This means not reading updates on my kids,  or especially my grandbaby and seeing the newest pictures or videos of her.  It means not scrolling through in the morning and seeing everybody’s life adventures of the morning.  I am wondering if I can make it a habit to open my Bible before checking statuses and more time with better reading choices that encourage my walk with God.  

My pastor wrote about Lent and this is a good summary:

“This is what Lent is about . . . life with God.
It is about setting aside something good for Someone better . . . God.
It is about receiving the Living Water.”

I’m blessed. I can choose more Living Water.  I can choose whom I will serve.

. . . Finish

fiveWe write for five minutes flat. 
All on the same prompt posted here at 1 minute past midnight EST every Friday. And we connect on Twitter with the hashtag #FMFParty (It stands for Five Minute Friday Party).

No extreme editing; no worrying about perfect grammar,
font, or punctuation.

Unscripted. Unedited. Real.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: “Choose” HIM for Lent

  1. I so understand your point. Not for Lent, but for life, I closed my twitter account a few months ago–just couldn’t continue–didn’t WANT to continue, and I’ve been in a wrestling match over facebook, too. I know these social networks serve a purpose, and for some they are necessary, but so often, they seem like “busy work” to me.

    I’m sure you’ll be blessed by spending time with The Lord first and foremost!

Leave a Reply

