Posted in Daily Prompt, Family

Daily Prompt: Sweet Sixteen

R

eading this Daily Prompt idea, I see how I’ve tried to redo my childhood through my children. I don’t remember my 16th birthday.  It does not stand out in my mind. It does not mean it was a bad day, but I don’t remember it as a highlighted birthday either.  I do not remember any birthday party or special cake.  I don’t remember “sweet sixteen”. My sister and I shared birthdays often – our birthday dates a month a part, yet by five years.

bday1So, I try to make birthdays special for each of our kids and probably go overboard with it at times.  It’s their day to celebrate their life. It’s also a celebration for me as their mom. I am thankful to do this each year, with each of my children, even remembering our two in heaven on their birth days.

Our twin’s 16th birthday was the first sweet sixteen birthday to celebrate for girls in our family.

bday2

We had a small surprise party for them, having four of their special friends surprise them by being at our local Coffee House.  I hope they remember and treasure this birthday for many years, knowing how much they were and are loved!  Now both these girls are married and one also a mama!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

