Posted in Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Love is not a {Fight}

FIGHT

Start . . .

F

ight . . . It’s really a word I hate. I think to my childhood, and oh, the words between my parents and I or my sister and I.  And I hate hearing my children fight. Usually I try to nip it right away . . . but there’s sometimes, when I know what the fight is about, I will tell them, “Mom is checking out . . . go work it out between you kids.  If I have to settle it, you are not going to like it.”  One consequence for a sibling fight is to have the offenders sit on the couch, holding hands for so many minutes.  Oh my!  That is worse than a chore! It’s quite amazing how quickly kids can get over the fight they were in just ten minutes previously and be the best of friends. 

If only that would carry through to our marriages.  Ugh.  Those can at times, can be the worst . . . either, the verbal out loud fight, or the silent fight. Maybe the kids need to send the parents to the couch for a time-out hand holding consequence! 🙂

wed1When I first read Five Minute Friday‘s word, a song immediately came to mind, which I will copy and paste when my five minutes are over.  It was sung at our first child’s wedding. I had not heard it before, but really like the words.  I wonder how many marriages would be saved, or be so much more peaceful if we would remember that,
Love is not a
Fight, but it’s something worth Fighting for “.

. . . Finish

Kept Signature

Joining Lisa-Jo and her Five Minute Friday.
” five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right “
LOVE IS NOT A FIGHT lyrics
by Warren Barfield from album Worth Fighting For
Love is not a place
to come and go as we please
It’s a house we enter in
then commit to never leave
So lock the door behind you
Throw away the key
Work it out together
Let it bring us to our kneesLove is a shelter
in a raging storm
Love is peace
in the middle of a war
If we try to leave;
May God send angels to guard the door
No, Love is not a fight
but its something worth fighting forSome love is a word
that they can fall into.
But when they’re falling out
keeping that word is hard to do

Love is a shelter
in a raging storm
Love is peace
in the middle of a war
If we try to leave;
May God send angels to guard the door
No, Love is not a fight
but its something worth fighting for

Love will come to save us
If we’ll only call
He will ask nothing from us
but demand we give our all

Love is a shelter
in a raging storm
Love is peace
in the middle of a war
If we try to leave;
May God send angels to guard the door
No, Love is not a fight
but its something worth fighting for,

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Love is not a {Fight}

  1. I’m coming over from Lisa-Jo’s place. I love the lyrics of that song. Ugh, you’re right — a marriage “fight” can be the worst. So many wounds can build up over time if they aren’t handled immediately. Bitterness can creep in and oh my — the battle is on. I am speaking from experience. We just celebrated our 24th wedding anniversary. 😉

    God bless you today and always!
    Beth

  2. Stopping over from the 5MF! My husband underwent 3+years of unemployment. He is thankfully working now, but that was such a trying time in our marriage, and we really had to fight to stay together. We are still fighting, but it’s better!

  3. I have Warren Barfield’s cd with that song particularly on it. It has spoken volumes to Rob and I when times were tough. My home is a sanctuary and sometimes its not always peaceful, but the door is locked and we will overcome the obstucles with God’s help.

Leave a Reply

