Posted in Family

Book Review: NIV Ragamuffin Bible

W

hen I read the title of this Bible, as, NIV Ragamuffin Bible: Meditations for the Bedraggled, Beat-Up, and Brokenhearted, I was intrigued.  I was even more interested when I read that this NIV Ragamuffin Bible has a collection of Brennan “Manning’s raw and painfully honest, yet grace-filled devotions, meditations and reflections of his journey limping back to – like the prodigal son – his overjoyed father.” (from the back cover)  Every few years I like getting a new Bible and I wanted an NIV for 2014.  So, I was quite excited to receive it to review.

Ragamuffin Bible NIVThe features of this Bible is that besides being the NIV Bible, it also has 104 devotions, 250 reflections as a help to understand what it means to be a child of God and 150 short quotes of insights into God’s kingdom. The Bible I have in hand, is a hardcover book, with the cover as pictured to the left.  I like the way it looks. 

I especially like the reflections I find throughout this NIV Bible, however, they do not always relate to the passages on the page the quote is and they seem to be quite sparce considering this Bible is with Mannings meditations and quotes throughout. I wish there were more.  Also, the devotionals, just do not have the depth with their short excerpts and Mannings books do.  No, God’s Word does not change, and that is all there fully!  That is what the focus should be on.  I was just disappointed to not find more in-depth writings of Mannings.

I like the cover, I like the ease of reading it, and the pages.  This Bible would be ideal for someone just beginning to read the Bible.

I give this book 3 stars out of 5

greensig

NIV Ragamuffin Bible has been provided courtesy of The B & B Media Group, Inc.
in exchange for my written, honest review of this Book.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

