Posted in Writings & Poems

Weekly Writing Challenge: Moved by Music

N

eaBlog1r the top of my list for things to be thankful for is music.  Music is something that can help pull me out of a sadness or bring back memories, some precious, some just from days gone.  Music helped with healing after our son died.  For one son, it was definitely his outlet, sometimes til 2 or 3 in the morning he’d escape into music, teaching himself how to play the guitar, singing and writing music.  Now that he’s not living at home, I really miss his music. One special song for that season in our lives, and the first time Jayson sang a solo was “Blessed be Your Name” which he sang at a Mother/Daughter program the first Mother’s Day after Matthew was gone. The line,

You give and take away
You give and take away
My heart will choose to say
Lord, blessed be Your name

I remember very clearly after my mom’s memorial service in the spring of 2004, and we were just leaving my hometown, and my husband was getting gas in the car, and I found a Christian radio station, and heard, for the first time, Selah singing “You Raise Me Up” and just being assured that God will raise me up to walk on those stormy seas, but the part, that still gives me the chills is the line, 

But when You come and I am filled with wonder
Sometimes, I think I glimpse eternity.

I am so thankful for those glimpses of eternity through music we can be reminded of.   Of course, there’s other songs that brings smiles, like “You are My Sunshine” along with “When I am Afraid I Will Trust in You” by Steve Green which I sang often to Jessica during her 10 weeks in ICU as a baby.  “Just As I Am” brings me back to my home church, my dear home pastor and his dear wife their dedication to carrying for souls, including mine.  “Give Us Clean Hands” reminds me of the first time my daughter and her then boyfriend (now husband) sang a duet in church.

Music can certainly soothe our souls, make us cry, laugh, remember and sometimes take us away to far away places to forget for the time being.  I love praise music.  I like having CD’s or the Christian radio station on throughout the day.  And I love worshipful music – and again, the glimpses of eternity of our never ending worship to Jesus.

Weekly Writing Challenge: Moved by Music

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

