Posted in Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: MERCY Finds Me

MERCY

mer·cy  mərsē/    noun

 1.  compassion or forgiveness shown toward someone whom it is within one’s power to punish or harm 
“the boy was screaming and begging for mercy”
synonyms: leniency, clemency, compassion, grace, pity, charity, forgiveness, forbearance, quarter, humanity

Start . . .

T

he thought that comes to mind right away is the song,  When Mercy Found Me  Though the rest of the lyrics do not necessarily fit my life, but rather, it’s continued mercy from God that often awes me.  Mercy continually finds me.  God continually pursues me.  Maybe it’s why this is one of my favorite verses: 

The steadfast love of the Lord never ceases;
His mercies never come to an end;
they are new every morning;
great is Your faithfulness.
Lamentations 3:22, 23

We definitely can be our worst enemy – hard on ourselves when we’ve blown it again, slipped a curse word, or screamed at the kids. Will I ever get it right?  Will I ever be a better wife, mom, teacher, writer, organizer, planner . . . especially, a better Christian and more like Jesus?  Those times when we feel like . . . yeah . . . I keep trying to have a schedule of reading Scripture or praying, and I fall asleep at night or get a phone call to take in the morning, so why even try.  And then later when the day has gone really bad, we realize we neglected God again, and He is already there, compassionately, not ready to hit me over the head with what I should’ve done, but start now, here.  He’s faithful even when I am not faithful to Him.  

This verse helps me often, to start over, in so many areas of life, including parenting, schooling, and getting back into a schedule.  I may louse it up today, but if His mercies can be new every morning, why can’t mine be?  This can help in so many areas of life, friendships and marriage.

I am thankful that mercy continues to find me.  Because of His mercies and compassion, I am 

Kept Signature

. . . Finish

Joining Lisa-Jo and her Five Minute Friday.
” five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right “

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

4 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: MERCY Finds Me

  1. I love this because I can relate so well. But He is always ready to forgive and start again. It also reminds me that I need to be willing and start again with others and with myself, and not hold it against myself when I mess up.

Leave a Reply

