Posted in Family, Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Lonely

Lonely

Start . . .

W

hen I read this word tonight, I just stared. WOW!! It was as though Lisa-Jo invaded my journal this past week.  Rarely, when I write in my journal, do I write just a little.  But one night all I wrote was, lonely.   I imagine many moms feel this way at times . . .  a day filled with kids, misunderstandings with your husband, no talking with other adults, bills due, so much that didn’t get done, concerns with children’s attitudes and their walk with Jesus, and it’s . . .

JUST.PLAIN.LONELY.  

I really cannot think of another time I wrote just one word in my journal.  But God has used it mightily in various ways since.

My small group is using the Bible study book,  The Wisdom of God: Seeing Jesus in the Psalms and Wisdom Books (Seeing Jesus in the Old Testament) which I highly recommend, and this past week, one highlighted quote from the book reads:

“The Psalms serve as an invitation to pour out our honest emotions before God.
But they also show us that God intends to change how we feel.”  
(page 72)

The chapter we are reading regarding the Psalms stresses how there is so much honesty of the Psalmists in the way they feel, yet, the negativity turns back to positiveness and:

“Doubt leads to trust; anger toward God turns to admiration for God;
sadness gives way to joy.”

(p. 71)

And I also read:

” . . . as you stand at the grave or take the stand in a courtroom,
in the depths of your loneliness as well as in the heights of achievement,
let the Psalms assure you of His loving presence.”
(page 81)

 So while I was doing my study before our small group, I looked up “lonely” in the Psalms.  And this is the verse that popped out at me:

 Turn to me and be gracious to me,
    for I am lonely and afflicted.
The troubles of my heart are enlarged;
    bring me out of my distresses.
Consider my affliction and my trouble,
    and forgive all my sins.
Psalm 25:16-18

What an ideal prayer when that lonely feeling hits.  God knows.  He will be gracious to me, and He does bring me out of the distresses.   And He does answer our prayers, even when we are lonely.  Even when just one word is written down, lonely.  He knows the desires of my heart – and yours. He knows how to fill the loneliness as we allow Him to.

. . . Finish

Kept Signature Joining Lisa-Jo and her Five Minute Friday. ” five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right “

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

3 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Lonely

Leave a Reply

