Posted in Family

Five Minute Friday: Belong

Belong

Start . . .

I struggled a lot as a kid.  Who do I look like?  Why did my birthmom give me up?  Do I have brothers or sisters?  Why didn’t I belong in that home?  Where do I belong?  And though I met my birthparents, which I am thankful for, I did not belong there.  Our lives were different. God had chosen another home for me, and though it was still difficult growing up as an adopted child, God knew where I did belong – and still does.

As women, we feel very self-conscience of where we belong.  With having a dozen children in 20 years  (youngest 6 – oldest 26), I still at times do not know where I belong with other women.  I don’t fit in with  the young moms of gradeschool kids or moms with married kids – most do not have gradeschool kids!  Where do I belong?  I am thankful for friends in a wide age range, but the women I feel most comfortable with – where I feel I do belong, are mostly older than me by five to ten years or more.  I love learning from them in their settled lives and their wisdom and encouragement.  They know the struggles I still face, from gradeschool to married kids and everything between.  

The best settlement in my mind is knowing I belong to Jesus, with no rejections, no on-and-off friendships and most of all HE is not confused about where I belong!   I have been called to belong to Jesus Christ!  

. . . Finish

Kept Signature

Joining Lisa-Jo and her Five Minute Friday.
” five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right “

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Belong

  1. Hi Loni,
    I found you at the link-up and I can relate you what you wrote about feeling like you truly belong with women a little bit older who have already waled the path down which you head…their wisdom is always such a blessing! I also loved how you reminded me about how Jesus is NEVER confused about where I belong! AMEN! ❤

  2. I can so relate to belonging with women older than I am…there is something of a peace that comes from their wisdom. Yes and so glad to know that Jesus is where I belong. Great post!

  3. What a beautiful perspective and outcome to a difficult question of belonging from such a young age. thanks so much for sharing this and for linking up with me!

  4. Good stuff! I’ve struggled with fitting in with other moms, too. I’m a 36-year-old (newly) single mom with an almost 17-year-old son. Most moms my age have kids in elementary school or preschool. Most moms with kids the age of mine are at least 10 years older than me. And all are usually still married. So it’s hard to find someone I can really relate to as well. But I’m also so glad that Jesus isn’t a fairweather friend!

    1. I meant to reply before, Nancy. I am sorry you are feeling the struggle too. What a young mom you are! I like what you said – Jesus is not a fairweather friend! What a truth! Thank you for stopping by!

  5. Dear Loni
    We were created with that need to belong to Jesus! And I agree that we learn so much from the wisdom of our older friends.
    Blessings XX
    Mia

Leave a Reply

