Posted in Family

Thankful Thursday ~ Devotionals

I

know I just do not get it how blessed I am with the availability of devotionals . . . not just in books, but the numerous of ones we can sign up for online and get them delivered in our e-mail box.  I don’t read everyone, but then, I find it so neat, that the one I choose to read, is just what I need to read and speaks so directly to my heart.  Today was one of those, from Bible Gateway, NIV Devotions for Women, with devotional titled, Blessed Are the Desperate.  

Below I will quote the beginning of it but I love how just the right words, come at the right time.  From this devotional, is a quote by C.S. Lewis, and I always like his writings, so that gets my attention quick too!  I can’t even explain all how this devotional touched my heart, but it did – when life can just be tough and I wonder about my failures and I get the reminders from God’s faithful people who scratch it out on paper and share it.  I am thankful.

I’m a colorful sinner, and I’ve fallen woefully short of God’s glory. I’m desperate for divine help. We all are.

C.S. Lewis paints a vivid description of how we humans seem to desecrate every good thing God does for us. In his book Letters to Malcolm, Lewis writes, “We poison the wine as He decants it into us; murder a melody He would play with us as the instrument. We caricature the self-portrait He would paint. Hence all sin, whatever else it is, is a sacrilege.”

Maybe you expect rejection from a perfect God because of your less-than-perfect past. Or maybe you’re spiritually crippled by a sin that seems unforgivable. But the good news of the gospel is that our heavenly Father loves us with an everlasting love.

Devotional from, Blessed Are the Desperate.

See the variety of Gateway Devotionals here.

 Kept Signature

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

One thought on “Thankful Thursday ~ Devotionals

Leave a Reply

