Posted in Family, Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Present

Present

Start . . .

So, I am sitting here at 2:25 am, wondering what I should write on for present, because at this present time, I am tired and want to go to bed.  But, I have a son out, too late, who told me over an hour ago he was just finishing up a movie at a friend’s house.  His brother that shares a room with him, 13 years younger, is presently laying on the couch, asleep, finally.  He keeps waking up, asking where his big brother is.  He’s only 6 years old, and is the only one of our 10 children, that have had to have a bedroom to himself at times.  All the other kids grew up with at least two or three in their room, with talking going on for hours.  One of my married daughters even wrote recently on her Facebook, that that night was the first night, EVER, sleeping alone!  

As I sit here in the quietness of the kitchen, hearing only the refrigerator, a fan humming in the window, and the clicking of my keyboard, I think back to the day.  It was indeed another present from God – I am thankful two of our married girls with their husbands, came home spontaneously for dinner and then took one of our girls out to a lake with them.  I am thankful for the present of my husband getting more work in.  And I am especially thankful for the relief of the humid air and being able to hang laundry out.  Tonight I had my lady’s small group and I am thankful for new truths learned about the book of  the Psalms (did you know it’s broken down into five books, and each of the books ends in a doxology??  I didn’t know this until today!  Another present!)  

My five minutes are up . . .  my son is still not home.  Argh  . . .  I am thankful my Heavenly Father is present – always.  Especially during these present times!

. . . Finish

Since several asked – yes, my son got home safely – close to 3 am.  He had fallen asleep at his friends.  My phone call woke him up!

Kept Signature

Joining Lisa-Jo and her Five Minute Friday.
” five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right “

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

9 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Present

  1. You made me smile with this. I LOVE how you managed to use so many meanings of “present.” I agonized over which one to use, but it never occurred to me to try to get them all in. Well done! And hopefully he’s home now and safely in bed!🙂
    Have a magnificent weekend!
    Tina @ Mommynificent

  2. I too hope your son is home in bed, safe and sound. I love how you used ‘present’ so many different ways. Life definitely is a present. (visiting from 5MF)

  3. Hi, hope your son got home okay. Left me hanging there too. I was caught up in your worries for your son. I am mom too so I know. 🙂 Thanks for sharing your five minutes it was uplifting. I love your blog too and am following you.

    1. Thank you for your sweet notes throughout my blog & on FB. Yes, we can ALWAYS use prayer, huh?!?!?! Thank you! 🙂 And yes, he got home close to 3 am. He had fallen asleep at his friends. My phone call woke him up!

Leave a Reply

