Posted in Family

Five Minute Friday: LISTEN

Listen

Start . . .

I remember when our first child was maybe close to a year old and another little boy I was babysitting, also the same age as my son, were in the kitchen playing.  I was in the bathroom fixing my hair and my husband was in the living room, where he could see the boys and what they were doing.  From the bathroom, I could listen and tell they were getting into trouble.  My husband was reading the paper and which is kinda typical of many men some, he did not see or hear them  . . . . I better not write more!!!  Anyway, he did not see nor listen…. and they were into Soft Scrub.  It was as though the two boys were finger painting with it.  It was everywhere on them.  Thankfully, they did not get it into their eyes or mouths.  I probably was not real nice to my husband for not seeing what was going on two feet from him . . .  😦  

And, I wonder how many times, I don’t listen for my Heavenly Father . . .  His still small voice, to encourage me, to lead me, to beckon me to spend time with Him, but I am reading or sewing, or watching TV.  Often in Scripture we read how God’s people did not listen, many times over and over again.  Yet, He listens to us.   I love this assurance how He listens to me . . . 

 If I had cherished iniquity in my heart,
the Lord would not have listened.
 But truly God has listened;
He has attended to the voice of my prayer.
Blessed be God,
because He has not rejected my prayer
or removed his steadfast love from me!

Psalm 66:18-20 (ESV)

. . . Finish

Kept Signature

Joining Lisa-Jo and her Five Minute Friday.
” five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right “

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: LISTEN

  1. Dear Loni
    At leat those two boys must have been squeeky clean! It must have taken you quite a long time to clean up that soapy mess.
    Much love XX
    Mia

Leave a Reply

