Posted in Family

Daily Prompt: Say Your Name

Write about your first name:
Are you named after someone or something?
Are there any stories or associations attached to it?
If you had the choice, would you rename yourself?
Daily Prompt

I

am content with my name. But I’ve not always liked it.  As one source says, Loni is unusual as a baby girl name. Every so often I may hear of someone named, Loni, but  I do not really know anyone closely at all.  I am often called Lori in the doctor’s office –  the receptionist thinking that the n must be an r that went too far down.  When I was growing up, kids teased me about my name, mispronouncing it, rhyming it with bologna.  

Through the years I’ve looked up my name in baby books and rarely is it in there.  I can find it on-line now,  so often I look to see what meaning there is – and feel my name fits!  This one is a recent one I read:

The name Loni means ‘noble and ready’, ‘prompt’ or ‘all struggles’ in German.
This feminine name is pronounced as LON ee, and in Hawaiian, it means sky.
Ask.Com

My parents are of  German descent and yes, there’s been a lot of struggles in life, so, that is interesting.  

Another place says my name originated from the Greek and is the short form of Apollonia.  There are numerous places in Greece called Apollonia and there is an Apollonia, Wisconsin which was named in honor of lumberman Frederick Weyerhaeuser’s daughter in 1893.  Her nickname was Lonie.   And, Apollonia, Wisconsin is only 4 hours from where I grew up.  The interesting tie in with this for me is that my birth father was all Greek and I grew up in Wisconsin!  So, I don’t know if my parents tied this together – with a bit of German (adoptive parents) and Greek (birth parents).  I wonder if my parents went to Apollonia, WI and had a special time there and decided their first child would be named after it!  

Yet, what helps the most when I think of my name, is the name I will find out Jesus has given me.stone

He who has an ear, let him hear what the Spirit says to the churches. 
To the one who conquers I will give some of the hidden manna,
and I will give him a white stone,
with a new name written on the stone 
that no one knows except the one who receives it.
Revelation 2:17

Can you imagine?!?!?!  How exciting!  A new, personal name, from GOD!  Just “my” name, said from His lips, etched in stone, for me.  WOW!

Here is a neat article on Your New Name!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

