Posted in Family

Daily Prompt: Helping Hand ~ A Million Dollars

Tell us about the most surprising helping hand you’ve ever received.
Daily Prompt

I

t was after our baby was born still…a week later and the weekend was upon us.  Everything was over and it seemed we were being pushed to back normal.  My husband was suppose to go back to work in just a few days.  I was still healing from an emergency c-section that saved my life and my heart was hurting greatly and my arms hurt from not holding a baby we so loved and wanted.  The idea of my husband going back to work and trying to find normal seemed about impossible.  And then my husband voiced too, he was not looking forward to going back to work.  In fact, he wished he had another week off . . .  But financially, we could not afford a week without pay.  

Our son Matthew (now also in heaven with that baby girl) went to get the mail that late Saturday morning.  He came in with an envelope that had our name typed across the front.  No address.  Just our name.  Someone had put it in the mailbox.  We opened it up and out fell ten one hundred dollar bills.  A Bible verse was typed on a sheet of paper, 

But my God shall supply all your need according to his riches in glory by Christ Jesus.
Phil. 4:19

My husband and I were just in awe.  And then Matthew, who was ten years old at the time, asked innocently, “what are we going to do with that million dollars?”

Indeed, it was like a million dollars.  It gave us another week together to make more time to make memories for things we had taken for granted.  It was more than a helping hand . . . it remains a million dollar lifetime memory tucked away in my heart to be forever thankful for.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Helping Hand ~ A Million Dollars

Leave a Reply

