Posted in Family

Daily Prompt: Bittersweet Memories ~ Matthew about 3 years old

You receive a gift that is bittersweet and makes you nostalgic. What is it?
Daily Prompt

O

our youngest son, now 6,  has been the ring bearer for our three kids’ weddings in the last 2 years.   Of course, we thought he was quite adorable and he took it very seriously and did a great job.  But as with any of our celebrations there’s always that missing person, our son, Matthew who has been in heaven over 8 years now.  Next week will be his 25th birthday.  Especially when our oldest son got married, I noticed the gap – he would have been standing next to his brother.  I hope God gave him a peek through the clouds of his siblings’ special days.  

One of the gifts my mom-in-law gave me for my last birthday was this picture of Matthew as a ring bearer for my husband’s sister’s wedding – nearly 22 years ago.  It definitely is a very bittersweet, nostalgic picture that I am SO thankful for and for the precious memory that I hold dear.

Matthew Joe

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

8 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Bittersweet Memories ~ Matthew about 3 years old

Leave a Reply

