Posted in Family

Five Minute Friday: Candace Glover’s SONG, “I am Beautiful”

SONG

start . . .

Tonight we watched about the last half hour of American Idol – (though we still had to switch the channel during one performance).  We did not watch nearly as much of American Idol this year as we did in years past, but we wanted to see who won.  If you haven’t heard or read, it was Candace Glover.  I was not hoping for one over the other, so it was just for fun to watch the reactions.  But then, something stood out to me . . . the last song that Candace sang was called “I am Beautiful” which she wrote herself.   I was listening to the words . . . and she got to the words, “he says I am beautiful” and pointed upward – and I wondered, should that be a capital “H” in that song – is it God she is speaking of?   I heard more words of  “I’m worth every tear and scar” and wondered even more if she truly understand the love of Jesus.  

After American Idol was over, I did some searches about Candace Glover and about her song, and though I still do not know for sure, when I read all the words to her song, she seems to grasp God’s love.  I wish she would have said His name if she is speaking of Him and if she is, I hope that she will be a great testimony through song to the many who will listen to her through word and song.  I wonder how many girls really need to hear the words to this song.  I wonder how many women need to hear and believe it.  

. . . Finish

Kept Signature

I Am Beautiful” by Candace Glover
which she performed after the announcement of her winning Season 12 of American Idol

You say I sound silly when I laugh real loud
Talk about my day and you tune me out
You keep telling me lies to make things worse
But I don’t hear you
‘Cause I’m listening to his words
And he says I am beautiful
And when I fall
It don’t matter that I’m not perfect
I am beautiful
I’m not alone
And in his eyes I’m so worth it
I’m worth every tear
And every scar
And even when you say I’m not
He says I’m beautiful
You say I’ll never be good enough
Knock me down
Won’t help me up
And you always say the right thing to make hurt
But I don’t hear you
‘Cause I’m listening to his words
And he says I am beautiful
And when I fall
It don’t matter that I’m not perfect
I am beautiful
I’m not alone
And in his eyes I’m so worth it
I’m worth every tear
And every scar
And even when you say I’m not
He says I’m beautiful
And I deserve better things
He says he understands
I got to do whats right for me
And he says I am beautiful
And when I fall
It don’t matter that I’m not perfect
I am beautiful
I’m not alone
And in his eyes I’m so worth it
I’m worth every tear
And every scar
And even when you say I’m not
He says I’m beautiful
He says
He says
I’m beautiful
And I’m worth every tear
And every scar
And even when you say I’m not
He says I’m beautiful

Joining Lisa-Jo and her Five Minute Friday.
” five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right “

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

12 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Candace Glover’s SONG, “I am Beautiful”

  1. ooooh – i live in New Zealand and we’re a bit behind, but glad she won. i havent watched much either (maybe about 3 episodes) – but wow what a beautiful song – i’ll be looking that one up! i agree, it needs a capital H for HE. songs i think so speak, more than someone saying you’re beautiful, it being in a song seems to communicate it more effectively… thanks for your post! following behind you at FMF – blessings, claire

  2. If you are a Christian there is no doubt her Faith inspired this song to bring Glory to God for blessing her with one of the many gifts she has…singing from her soul! I believe I am not perfect but I am forgiven as a Christian.

  3. I agree – we don’t watch the show but, enjoyed reading about it here in your post. I do agree, hope she knows God’s love and can testify of His love. We all need to know and appreciate His love! Amen! Thanks, Jenn

  4. He is definitely the” One True God” she is talking about.Have you all seen the homecoming in her hometown? If not watch it.Candice is very humble and grateful that she won.She evidently knows where her gifts come! Candice and Kree are both good girls.You are blessed Candice, and have a loving family.

    1. That is neat to know. No, I did not watch the homecoming one. We did not watch AI nearly as much this season. There was one judge that was just too much of a turn-off for us!

  5. I’m convinced Candace was speaking of God’s love for and appreciation of her. Yes, any pronoun referrence to God should begin with a capital letter, as should the world God when speaking one the One True God. This is necessary to distinguish between our God, the creator of the world and the many lesser gods regarded and created by mankind. Please note I’ve often seen the error of the lack of the capital letter used in reference to God in newspapers, other publications and even some Bibles. So While I’m convinced that Candace believes in God, I think this was just a mistake maybe based on not knowing the appropriteness of the capital letter reference.

  6. Why quibble about capital letters and small letters, it is OBVIOUS to MOST people that the HE she is singing about is Our God. It is OBVIOUS in the words themselves, in the way she sings, and the way she looks while she is singing. And by the way, she is beautiful — or do you want She is beautiful or SHE is BEAUTIFUL. You can’t take anything away from her, and you shouldn’t try. May God Bless You.

    1. I am sorry – I really was not meaning it in the sense that God “He” HAD to be capitalized – but many times in our songs today, the “He” can be God or the “he” can be another man in someone’s life. So I was not sure who the He is, because I had not been watching American Idol nor did I know know much about the singer. But when she pointed heavenward in the song, I really thought this may be a woman singing about God and am thankful to see many know her testimony as shining for Jesus. 🙂

Leave a Reply

