Posted in Family

Daily Prompt: Memories For Sale

On a weekend road trip, far away from home,
you stumble upon a garage sale in a neighborhood you’re passing through.
Astonished, you find an object among the belongings for sale that you recognize.

Daily Prompt: Memories For Sale

I

t wasn’t a garage sale, but an auction.   The auctioneer was selling off junk boxes – you buy the whole box and take what you get.  Some boxes went for just a few dollars – others maybe $10.   The box I wanted went for too much.  How could I justify to my husband I wanted a little mouse that was falling apart for over $15.  So when I saw who bought it, I went over to the lady and asked her if I could buy the mouse from the box from her.  She gave it to me.  I think she thought I was crazy!

I have few things from my childhood, but this little wind-up mouse is one that I remember my grandpa having.  He’d wind it up and let it do somersaults across the card table in his bedroom.  The sound of this flipping over is the same sound I remember too.  It must be at least 40 years old. It’s just a little thing that so many would have seen as junk, but it is a treasured memory for me that I can share with my kids.  

Tonight as I was working on the picture to put in this post, my 16 year old daughter saw the picture on my computer and said, “You can’t sell that!”  She thought I was putting it on eBay!  Though she never met my grandpa, she relates with me in special keepsakes.  

So now my little mouse goes back to his place in my curio cabinet with my Precious Moments figurines, to bring out sometime later to share with the kids – or maybe when my granddaughter will be enticed by it! 

MOUSE

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

