Posted in Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: Comfort

COMFORT

start . . .

blogOur youngest stepped on a yellow jacket wasp this morning as he was going to look for eggs.  He tried to be brave, but it really stung, and daddy held him and put  Tea Tree oil on him.  But when he saw me, he started to cry.  He needed that mama comfort.  My pregnant daughter tells me a lot of what’s going on with her pregnancy, how she’s feeling, questions, and concerns.  She knows that I can relate and also comfort her and reassure her.  Tonight I was talking with a friend as she shared about her son that died many years ago, and how a relative of hers, who also lost a child, said he just did not understand what she went through, until they also went through the same kind of loss.  Both of us could relate to things many others cannot comprehend . . .  we can comfort each other.  

Might this be why Jesus says,

Rejoice with those who rejoice,
weep with those who weep.

Romans 12:15

Some of the best comfort I’ve received is other’s just care enough to listen and relate.  Yesterday I received an anonymous text just simply saying ” Praying!! ”  It meant a lot, and gave comfort.  And when I can relate to another person who is going through a hard time, not only can I give comfort, I receive it as well.  And most of all Jesus gave us the Comforter.

But the Comforter (Counselor, Helper, Intercessor, Advocate, Strengthener, Standby), the Holy Spirit, Whom the Father will send in My name [in My place, to represent Me and act on My behalf], He will teach you all things. And He will cause you to recall (will remind you of, bring to your remembrance) everything I have told you.

John 14:26
Amplified Bible

. . . Finish

Kept Signature

Joining Lisa-Jo and her Five Minute Friday.
” five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right “

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

10 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: Comfort

  1. It’s so true. Our pain isn’t minimized but our comfort is increased when we know we’re not alone. When we know that by rejoicing and weeping we are in communion not only with each other but also with God. Thankful to be back here reading tonight.

  2. Dear Friend
    Oh, how precious is an ear to listen, a shoulder to cry on, and a mouth refusing to give advice when your heart is breaking!
    Blessings from FMF
    Mia

Leave a Reply

