Posted in Family

Homemade Laundry Soap

I

just finished making my third batch of laundry soap yesterday. The first time I made it, I made one of them I found on Pinterest which was a liquid kind.  My kids helped a lot.  We even used rainwater (which is suppose to be softer water).  But I did not like it.  It separated, took so many containers to keep it in.  Clothes were clean but it did not seem to take all the strong smells out (such as my husband’s small engine work from exhaust fumes). Then I tried a dry formula a few months ago, and we loved it.  I  can make it easily within an hour, and it does not take up nearly as many containers, and it smells wonderful!   I made it again yesterday, and did not make it quite the same, because I found an Amway product at Good Will that was quite cheap so I replaced one of the ingredients.  So, here’s what I did:

Easy Do It Yourself Laundry Soap 

3 bars of Fels-naptha – finely grated (or 2 Bars  of Zote Soap – haven’t found locally)
1 Box of Borax
1 Box of Washing Soda (substituted SA8 Tri-Zyme Stain Pre-Soak & Detergent Booster)
2- 28oz Containers of Purex Crystals (may be able to use only 1?? trying it out)
3- 16oz Containers of Oxi-Clean (I bought the Dollar Store brand – $1 each!)
2 Cups of Baking Soda

I cut up each bar of soap into quarter-sized squares and then put into electric chopper and chopped ONE BAR at a time.  I also added in a half of cup of Borax to each bar so the soap would not stick together.  The first time I made this, I only did a half a batch to see if we liked it. When I made the full batch this time, I still made it a half batch at at time to make sure I mixed it well.  I used a big stainless steal pot to mix it in.  The empty Purex Crystal bottles are great for putting your finished product in.  When I use the laundry soap, I used about 2 TB per load.  I also absolutely love the scent of the Purex Crystals FRESH SPRING WATERS!  It smells almost as good as the outdoor laundry smell!  

P5080009

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

2 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Soap

Leave a Reply

