Posted in Family

Daily Prompt: Earworm

(Don’t miss entering for my Holley Gerth book giveaway!)

ear·worm  
/ˈi(ə)rˌwərm/
Noun
A catchy song or tune that runs continually through a person’s mind.

What song is stuck in your head (or on permanent rotation in your CD or MP3 player) these days?
Why does it speak to you?

S

everal weeks ago I was dealing with some normal kid emotions and drama (along with my own emotions and drama dealing with it!) I was weary of it, and it all seemed to be on a Saturday, so by the time Saturday night came around, I was SO ready for bed, and sleeping in the next day sounded like a good way of real “rest”.  You know how we can talk ourselves into, taking a real day of rest . . .  skip church, lay back – have a quiet day at home with God.  It was sounding pretty good.  Besides, how could I go to church and pretend my heart was not hurt by a teenager that did not understand?  How could I stand up and sing songs when I did not feel like singing?  

So, I got in bed that Saturday night and decided to read one of my “fluff books” – no thinking – just escape into a fiction book.  But, God found and pursued me there too.  I am reading The Yada Yada Prayer Group.  The story goes into how the women in a specific small group decide to not dress up for a banquet because one of the gals did not bring a dress to wear.  One of the ladies was all excited about dressing up – and so this was out of her comfort zone to not be like all the other ladies at the banquet.  And then . . . the word “sacrifice” comes to her mind, and the verse about “a sacrifice of praise“.    

Through Him then let us continually offer up a sacrifice of praise to God,
that is, the fruit of lips that acknowledge His name.
Hebrews 13:15

And, it hit me.  God wants me there, at church . . . and it may be a sacrifice of praise – but I can praise Him anyway.  I have so much to be thankful for, and drama will not win!  Since that day, when various things happen – I can purposefully give a sacrifice of praise to God.  And I’ve found myself singing that song in my mind often, 

Lord I lift a song of worship
For Your glory and Your grace
Let my heart reveal all my words fail to say
Lord receive this sacrifice of praise

Hallelujah hallelujah
Hallelujah to Your name
For all You’ve done
You are and evermore will be
Lord receive this sacrifice of praise
Lord receive this sacrifice of praise
Lord receive this sacrifice of praise

Sacrifice of Praise Lyrics

Kept Signature

Don’t miss entering for my Holley Gerth book giveaway!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Earworm

Leave a Reply

