Posted in Family, Post A Day

Daily Prompt: Why do I blog?

T

he first blog post I wrote was on December 27, 2004, barely two weeks after our 16 year old son’s death. Several months before our son died, I began reading my first blog, “How is Luke Doing?“, about a 17 month old boy who drowned in a pool and was brought back to life after 40 minutes, and their incredible journey of, still healing and fight for Luke.  (This blog still continues along with the battle of Luke’s frail body and life and am thankful to call his mom, my long distance, on-line friend).Little did I think, a few months later, I would begin blogging as a way of healing.  I’ve always liked writing.  I’ve kept journals off and on. I was one of those kids in high school who got in trouble for writing stories in my notebooks rather than doing my schoolwork.  :/

And so, my blogging continued through the ups and downs of life over the past eight years, including the birth of our 12th child, an emergency open heart surgery for my daughter, car accidents, three kid’s weddings and a variety of book reviews and other product reviews.  After writing for nearly one and a half years on Journaling through the Valley, I was given an opportunity to blog with an ABC affiliate, ClubMom (now called CafeMom) which I did with about 20 other moms of various backgrounds, just sharing our lives, as moms.  It was a great opportunity towards my wanting to write  professionally, and through this began my “freelance writing” venture.  After writing for 18 months with ClubMom, I went back to my own new blog, right here, to write independently and still have freelance writing opportunities.  

I enjoy writing.  I enjoy interacting with people and most of all, I am thankful for the opportunity to share my life as a wife, as a mom with a dozen kids, and a kept child of Jesus.  :)

Kept Signature

Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question ~ Why do you blog?

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

2 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Why do I blog?

Leave a Reply

