Posted in Family

Recipe: Oooey Gooey Vanilla Caramel Corn Recipe

T

 he kids had youth group last night and they always want a snack when they get home This was very easy to make – so they may think I spent the 2 hours they were gone making it, when actually, I had some nice quiet time with the two youngest. (ONLY two kids in my house is VERY quiet!)

This was another Pinterest recipe I found, but made quite a few changes – and will change it again, when I make it next time.

Oooey Gooey Vanilla Caramel Corn Recipe

P4110376

Ingredients:

  • ½ stick butter  
  • 2 cups brown sugar (not packed)
  • 1 heaping TB cinnamon
  • 1 cup light Karo Syrup
  • 1 can Sweetened Condensed Milk (10 oz.)
  • 1 teaspoon real Vanilla
  • Approximately 6 quarts popped popcorn (4 bags microwave popcorn)
    (I will DEFINITELY do at least 6 bags next time)

Combine butter, sugar, cinnamon & Karo syrup in saucepan over medium heat, stirring until sugar is dissolved.

When mixture comes to a slow boil, add condensed milk – continue stirring until mixture comes to a soft ball stage. You can test with a candy thermometer (*234-238 degrees), but I waited until it came to soft boil and then dripped some caramel from a spoon into ice water and if it balls up immediately, it is done.

Stir in vanilla, pour over popcorn. Stir to coat.  It’s a LOT of popcorn to mix up.

I mix it up in a grocery paper bag.  I know . . . not the healthiest with germs and all . . . but neither is all the sugar!  And then, I can just throw the paper bag away!  :)

OOOOPS!  I forgot to take a picture right after I finished making this.  Instead, this is it half gone after the kids got into it!

P4110377

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

