Posted in Family

Egg Stuffed Baked Potato – “MAKE AGAIN MOM!”

Potato Eggs

W

hen the kids say, “you gotta make this again mom“, you know it’s good! The bonus was my husband really like it too! originally found this recipe on Pinterest.  The suggested way to make it was to bake the potatoes and then scoop most of the potato part out, and put the egg in.  I did not scoop any of the potato out.  Here’s what I did:

 I first baked the potatoes in aluminum foil at 350 for just over an hour.  I took them out, made slits in the middle and let them cool for only about 10 minutes or so.  I then pinched them open, and poked around at the part a bit to mush it up some and put about a 1/2 tablespoon of butter on each.  I put about two tablespoons of cheese over this.  I cut up some pre-baked turkey bacon and put about 2 tablespoons of bacon on each.  Next I used a fork to kind of push it down so there was a bit of a dip in the middle to hold the egg in.  Next just crack an egg into each and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  I baked it for approximately 25 minutes at 375 degrees.   The yolks were barely runny . . . I may do a few less minutes next time.

We are sour cream lovers here, so we still used a bit of sour cream mixed in with it.  My kids and husband loved it and want to know when I will make it again.  The neat part about it, is you can easily use what you have on hand.  I can imagine green pepper or even a combination of sauteed onions and green peppers would be real yummy (put the egg on top of this).  It could even be made more with a Mexican flavor with salsa put in and then an egg on top of this. 

With using the aluminum foil, it keeps it warm longer.  Smaller potatoes with just the egg yolk in them could be nice at a bridal or baby shower brunch . . .  and really not that expensive either! 

Let me know if you try this!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

2 thoughts on “Egg Stuffed Baked Potato – “MAKE AGAIN MOM!”

Leave a Reply

