Posted in Family

Book Review: Beautiful Battlefields by Bo Stern (win a copy of book or an iPad mini TODAY!)

I

am sure this book, Beautiful Battlefields, will be one of my top reads for this year.  I thought at first I would not be able to relate to her journey with her husband’s ALS disease, which she refers to as the “Goliath” in their lives.  We certainly all have had or are in the middle of a Goliath battle.  So, I could relate.  And, I am sure most of my readers will be able to relate as well.  The author, Bo Stern, is hoping for her readers to look for the blessings in the middle of the battlefield:

book“[I] ….bet that with a few intentional but relatively simple adjustments, you could find yourself with more treasure than your arms could hold or your heart contain, not in spite of your battle, but because of it.  But finding that treasure is a trick sometimes….My deepest hope is that this book will help you do just that.”

It is so easy to get our perspectives mixed up in the temporaryness of our time here.  Eight years ago if you would have told me good would  come out of my 16 year old son’s death, I may not have had nice words for you. I can now agree with her that, “[w]hen we are willing to let God use our deepest pain to show His goodness to those who are watching, remarkable things can happen.”  To know others will be in heaven because of his death, helps that pain.  Yet, there’s always the mini battles that seem to pop back up and we I wonder where God is in it.  Going through another winter of little income in my husband’s business has been a tiresome battlefield, and have been  emotionally struggling with it and had my own ideas of what would “fix” it.  I was encouraged by a friend to wait it out,  and see how God works it out.  It was hard to swallow at first, because I had some better fixes.  Then, I went back to reading Beautiful Battlefields and her quote of Isaiah 30:18-20 AMP:  

18 And therefore the Lord [earnestly] waits [expecting, looking, and longing] to be gracious to you; and therefore He lifts Himself up, that He may have mercy on you and show loving-kindness to you. For the Lord is a God of justice. Blessed (happy, fortunate, to be envied) are all those who [earnestly] wait for Him, who expect and look and long for Him [for His victory, His favor, His love, His peace, His joy, and His matchless, unbroken companionship]!

19 O people who dwell in Zion at Jerusalem, you will weep no more. He will surely be gracious to you at the sound of your cry; when He hears it, He will answer you.

20 And though the Lord gives you the bread of adversity and the water of affliction, yet your Teacher will not hide Himself any more, but your eyes will constantly behold your Teacher.

Isaiah 30:18-20
Amplified Bible (AMP)

It was absolutely one of those WOW! moments for me, as she continued to explain her desiring God’s matchless, unbroken companionship and God’s comforting  presence is an extravagant reward, one that we can under value . . . until we are in the heat of the battle.  And these battles allow us to connect with others in similar battles and we learn to share sufferings as God did with and for us.  It then gives us a purpose for our pain that can be of eternal value with others.  And it’s any battles . . .  not just the fighting a major life threatening disease, or the death of a loved one, but the daily ones too from a rebellious teenager to an electric shut-off notice.  

There is SO much more I could share from Beautiful Battlefields, but it would be where it touched my heart, and God definitely can use this book in other’s lives in various ways.  I am thankful I have had this opportunity to read it and share it.  Be sure to read below how you can win a copy of the book or win an iPad mini or get one right away by purchasing one!

 Kept Signature

The above is my personal, unaltered and honest review from reading Beautiful Battlefields.  A copy of the book was provided to me.  The information below was also provided to me to share with my readers.  

Bo Stern is celebrating the release of her Beautiful Battlefields with an iPad Giveaway and a Live Webcast event on March 12th!
iPad Giveaway
One “beautiful” winner will receive:

  • An iPad Mini
  • Beautiful Battlefields by Bo Stern

Enter today by clicking one of the icons below. But hurry, the giveaway ends on March 12th. Winner will be announced at the “Beautiful Battlefields” Live Webcast Event on March 12th. Connect with Bo Stern for an evening of sharing and perspective-changing encouragement for life’s battles. Bo will also be taking questions from the audience and giving away books and fun gift certificates throughout the evening.

So grab your copy of Beautiful Battlefields and join Bo on evening of March 12th for a chance to connect and make some new friends. (If you haven’t read the books – don’t let that stop you from coming!)

Don’t miss a moment of the fun, RSVP today. Tell your friends via FACEBOOK or TWITTER and increase your chances of winning. Hope to see you on the 12th!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

One thought on “Book Review: Beautiful Battlefields by Bo Stern (win a copy of book or an iPad mini TODAY!)

  1. Thank you so much for reading and reviewing the book, Loni. I’m so sorry for your loss and I pray you continue to see His beauty in every battle you face.
    Blessings,
    Bo Stern

Leave a Reply

