Posted in Family, Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: I am not HOME Yet

HOME

start . . . 
Our First Home 1985

HOME . . . the place we’re most comfortable,
kick off our shoes & plop  on the couch;
where we get up in the morning &
don’t care if hair is combed first thing;

HOME . . . where words of adoration are given &
kids are grossed out by mommy & daddy kissing
where mommy kisses owies
and daddy puts training wheels on the bike

HOME . . . where prayers are said around the table
and beside the bed
where singing is off-tune
and no one cares

HOME . . . where sometimes the worst pains are hidden
and doors are slammed hard
where tip-toeing around is not for keeping the baby asleep
and tears soak pillows

HOME . . . where one can be most understood and yet,
most misunderstood at the same time
where love and hate can happen in the same hour
where I love you & I forgive you can be the hardest to say

HOME . . . where I really do not belong on this side of heaven

HOME . . . where I long for on the other side of heaven.

I am not HOME yet.

. . . finished

One of my favorite songs right now . . . 

All I know is I’m not home yet 
This is not where I belong 
Take this world and give me Jesus 
This is not where I belong

Where I Belong
Building 429

Kept Signature

Joining Lisa-Jo and her Five Minute Friday.
” five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right “

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: I am not HOME Yet

  1. Hi Loni,
    Thanks for giving us a look into your home; you made me chuckle about how kids are grossed out by their parents kissing…keep up the good work 🙂 I love that song…Happy Friday🙂

Leave a Reply

