Posted in Family

Daily Prompt: 1980 Memories

Daily Prompt: 1980 Memories
Dig through your couch cushions, your purse, or the floor of your car and
look at the year printed on the first coin you find. What were you doing that year?

blog1

J

ust over 30 years ago around this time of year, it was my first time dealing with death of a close loved one, my beloved grandpa.  He lived with my family even before my parents brought me home.  So just being over 16 years old and going through his death was one of the hardest things to go through. He was such a part of our lives, from Friday trips to “Mr. H’s” (a fast-food hamburger place) while my mom was house cleaning to sneaking us large white mints and lifesavers in his bedroom.  He loved God with all his heart, and on that morning he had his second stroke, he was found with his Bible and Our Daily Bread in his lap.  March 8, 1980 he met Jesus face to face and was reunited with his wife that he had been without for over 30 years.  I remember that day . . . one of so much darkness . . . feeling alone . . . and my dad picking me up at a meeting and we walking down a long hallway and him telling me grandpa was gone. At that time of my life I wished to escape like my grandpa got too.  I’d so miss him . . . his little knocks on the wall above my bed from the opposite side, and instead of him saying “pardon me” when he did not understand or hear something he’d say, “Your what hurts you?

I think of all the things that have changed since his death . . . cell phones and computers, the internet and CD’s and watching movies at home.  Yet he’s not missed anything . . .  33 years of being with Jesus and not growing a day older or any more aches and pains.  I can’t wait to see him!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

