Posted in Daily Prompt

Daily Prompt: THE DOOR

Daily Prompt:  THE DOOR
Somewhere in your post, include the sentence,
“I heard the car door slam,

and immediately looked at the clock.”

I

t was well after midnight and I was waiting for my 19 year old son to get home.   The one thing I’ve told all my kids as they start going out on their own, as long as they live here, I will wait until they are home.  They try to tell me to just go to bed, but I don’t sleep well until I know they are home, safe and sound.  It was another night like it.  I was starting to doze off on the couch, and I heard the car door slam, and immediately looked at the clock. It was almost 1:30 am and I was rather irritated that he came in so late, with no texting me or letting me know.   I was ready to give him a piece of my mind!

rose babys breathRather than trying to sneak off to his bedroom, he came up to me at the couch with one arm behind his back and then brought out one single red rose with baby’s breath and handed it to me, along with a smirky grin.  How was I suppose to scold him now?!?!?!  “Happy Valentine’s Day, mom!”  Yes, it melted my heart. 

I wrote about this later on Facebook.  One of my married daughters wrote, “Ha Ha . . .  smooth!!”  I wonder if I will get more flowers anytime soon? 

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

