Posted in Daily Prompt

Daily Prompt: Whoa! (Remembering a Special Friend)

Daily Prompt: Whoa!
What’s the most surreal experience
you’ve ever had?

T

here is a very special family in my life, and the main person of this family waits for us in heaven.     I lived with this family for a year before my husband and I were married.  Nancy & John were the parents and Nancy was like a big sister to me.  When I lived with them, they had three young children – which are all grown now, two married, both with children.  Nancy and I connected very well.  We had a lot in common, especially with our personalities and childhoods.  Nancy had breast cancer and was discovered in the fall of 1993.  She told me shortly after our son was born and it was a heartbreaking time.  She made it through chemo and reconstructive surgery.  She was a fighter with lots of spunk.  She was told though, that if the cancer came back within ten years, it would come back with a vengeance.  Nine years later, it came back.  But Nancy did not tell me.  

She had called the day before to tell me that her and her husband were coming by to see me.  She sounded good.  She had not seen our youngest baby.  That night I dreamt that the cancer came back.  I woke up abruptly, and knew in my heart, that God had whispered to me, to be prepared.  I waited anxiously for her to show up, and I barely let her in the door, and asked her.  I think they were both shocked I knew.  They had not even told their kids yet.  It was definitely a whoa moment.   Later that day as we sat talking we had found out we both had been researching on Messianic Christianity.  She only lived about six months after this.  I was with her just a couple of days before she was ushered into heaven.  One of her daughters and I are good friends now.  I had promised Nancy I’d be specifically checking up on her.  About 9 months after her mom died, Kristi delivered twins, however one was stillborn.  The babies were born on the exact date, as our daughter was stillborn, just years before.  Nancy was with me in the operating room – saw our daughter – helped me make phone calls.

It’s been amazing how our lives have been intertwined through the years . . . and other special whoa moments as well . . . God’s whisperings of being in control – putting others in our lives that love on us and understand.  I’ve been blessed to have this family a part of my life.  And, I can’t wait to see Nancy again.  What a reunion that will be!  And I know we will have many more whoa moments together!

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

3 thoughts on “Daily Prompt: Whoa! (Remembering a Special Friend)

Leave a Reply

