Posted in Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: DARE to DIVE

DIVE

start . . . 

I grew up around a lot of water.  First my parents had a cottage on Lake Wisconsin.  I did a lot of swimming and my parents want to make sure my sister and I knew how to swim so we had many summers of swimming lessons.  When I was about 10 years old, my parents sold the cottage and had a large in-ground pool put in.  It had a diving board and big twirly slide. 

By the time we had the pool, I was pretty good at swimming and also could dive.  I learned how to dive frontwards and backwards, though I do remember when I first was trying dive backwards, scrapping my back along the diving board.  Uggg . . . I remember being scared as I hit the water, with both the pain and going under water.  You can’t scream underwater!

This past summer we were able to use a friend’s pool while they were gone.  So I decided to try to dive.  It had been at least 20 years!  I did it!   I did NOT come close to having the ideal form as I used to  (especially after having a dozen babies, my body is rearranged a little differently) but for a moment it was fun, my kids could not believe I did it, and I did not do a belly flop.  But I was not brave enough to try another dive again!

Thankfully, there are no pictures to show-off my dive!  LOL!

Kept Signature

Joining Lisa-Jo and her Five Minute Friday.
” five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right “

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: DARE to DIVE

  1. Awwww, what? NO pictures? That’s half the fun.😉 My kids dive all the time when we go to the pool but I’m not that brave as things have.. ahem.. redistributed and enlarged as well. It’s been years, but sometimes I think the rungs on the high dive ladder call to me. Maybe someday, as long as there are no cameras around.😉

  2. I was so pleased when I was noticed your picture above the link to your post on Gypsy Mama’s Five Minute Friday Loni. Of course, I had to stop by to read yours. What fun for you and your kids. There’s something about diving in that brings fun and joy. Good for you.

    blessings and love,
    Debbie

  3. Dear Loni, It sounds like you have some wonderful childhood memories. Ouch on the backward dive!!! So glad to hear that you chose to dive again, though it’s been many years and there have been many changes.

Leave a Reply

