Posted in Faith

What’s Your Bible Reading Plan?

 “God hands you lungs
when He hands you His Word and says —
These are not idle words to you,
they. are. your. life.”
Ann Voskamp

D

o you ever walk out of the church worship service so uplifted, knowing without a doubt you were touched by God . . . get that high you can only get from Him and wish it would last – last longer than the kids arguing in the car before you get out of the church parking lot?

Yesterday was one of those days.  No, the kids did not even argue, and I still have the hangover from the worship service!  It just touched my heart from the morning service, to the evening service, including little remarks my children made from their listening.  I want that every day, in my personal worship with Jesus. I want to share things I learn with my kids to keep them going. I need His life words to keep going.  Yet, the busyness of life, I procrastinate, am too tired, and get out of sorts, and skip here and then there.   Yet, there’s rarely a time, when I am getting those life words from Him, that it’s like, “wow . . . just at the right time.  Thank you Father!

I had several send me notes on devotional books that they love, yet, I want to mention, devotional books should not supersede God’s word.  So before I really share on devotional books, I’d really like to look at different reading plans.

I personally am reading through the The One Year ® Bible. I’ve read through it before, but the wonderful advantage of using the YouVersion Reading Plans, is you can pick various versions – even in the middle if something is not understood, switch to another version – then go back to the original one that was being read.  I like it too, because if you sign up on-line, you can get reminders, can read it through various means such as computer, cellphone, tablet, etc.  AND, verses can be highlighted to go back to later. I like to do this and then go back later and read them in my physical Bible, and sometimes note by it.  

There’s additional options too with the YouVersion Reading Plans (and of course other online reading plans) such as reading it Chronologically or Historically or in 6 months, 90 days, 1 year or even 2 years.  

Another positive, if you haven’t started yet, you can today- and you are not behind … start your year, 6 months or 2 years from today!🙂

Kept Signature

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

3 thoughts on “What’s Your Bible Reading Plan?

  1. Well thanks for the encouragement and the link! I just signed up for a read the bible through in a year plan. I am a committed reader of the Word but have not actually read the entire bible so I will make it a goal for this year. I would also be happy to write a blog post about my devotional reading.

Leave a Reply

