Posted in Information Article

Information Article: TENS Unit & Muscle Stimulator

R

ecently I was telling a friend about the fibromyalgia and lupus flare-up pain I am having. There is some days the pain is quite bad and it seems after awhile medications I use my body gets use to and I’ve got to find something new.  This friend was telling me about her mom who also deals with chronic pain and how an LG-TEC Dual Combo TENS Unit and Muscle Stimulator has been helping her tremendously.  I had never heard of this before, so did some research.

I learned that a Transcutaneous Electrical Nerve Stimulation ( TENS Units ) is a type of therapy that uses low-voltage electrical current for pain relief. The unit is a small, battery-powered machine (about the size of a pocket radio) and works by connecting two electrodes (wires that conduct electrical current) from the machine to the skin and placed on the area of pain creating a circuit of electrical impulses that travels along nerve fibers.  After the current is received by the patient, many feel less pain.  The main function of the TENS Unit is that it helps as a “pain blocker” for the nerves. 

Muscle Stimulators are for the muscles and used to rehabilitate the muscles.  The Muscle Stimulator machine is very similar to the TENS however it’s purpose is to cause the muscles to contract and has nothing to do with pain relief.  It is for training muscles.  The electrical impulses work like the brain and tell the muscles to move. It is mainly used for training for aesthetic purposes and for therapeutic use when muscles are not being used because of injury. This helps keep them conditioned and prevents atrophying.

Of course using either of these devices need to be used under the guidance of a doctor or physical therapist who can guide the patient. Then it is possible to have one of these units in the home.  You can Visit LGMedSupply Online to see get more information or read the online customer blog.

Enhanced by Zemanta

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

3 thoughts on “Information Article: TENS Unit & Muscle Stimulator

  1. I’ve been suffering largely unrelieved chronic pain now for years as I’m highly allergic to most pain relievers. Since getting a TENS machine, I’ve experienced marked relief with continual use of it. When I first tried it at the pain clinic it wasn’t very useful, but having one that I can use daily (sometimes more than once a day) has greatly improved my pain management.

    1. Glad I could be of help. Please note though, often it needs to be used for an extended period, just using it once every now and then might not be effective…it depends what kind of pain it is. Mine is caused by nerve pain, even wearing clothes can be unbearable, any pressure on my skin, particularly on my right side is bad. As I said, when I tried a machine at the pain clinic, ie once every two weeks it did very little. Oh and I got my machine for less than $20 (with extra electrodes) on the internet so shop around, can be powered with usb cord too. God bless🙂

Leave a Reply

