Posted in Faith, Family, Meme

Thankfulness Through Song ~ “White Flag” {Day 4}

Y

es, several weeks ago I sent a text in church to my daughter. We had had words, and had gone several days hardly talking to each other.  There were too many wedding tensions.   I had even debated whether to go to church that morning.  Ugh.  But, I knew I needed the encouragement, to get out of the grumpy mood I was in.   And one of the first songs we sang, was this Chris Tomlin song, White Flag.  

The battle rages on
As storm and tempest roar
We cannot win this fight
Inside our rebel hearts
We’re laying down our weapons now
We raise our white flag
We surrender
All to You
All for You

I had to let it go – raise the white flag.  Surrender.  Even if she did not, the battle did not have to be mine.  So I sent her a text . . . “Can we raise the white flag?  I am.  Love you

I am reading Unglued: Making Wise Choices in the Midst of Raw Emotions by Lysa Terkeurst.  It’s  an excellent, over-the-top, book!  I think she wrote it knowing me very personally!  Anyway, I was reading about the person that may set us off  . . .  the one that we are in conflict with, and that person is really not the enemy, but Satan is.  It is Satan that is influencing us and the other person.  She shares from following Scripture verse:

“Be self-controlled and alert.
Your enemy the devil prowls around
like a roaring lion looking for someone to devour.
Resist him, standing firm in the faith.”
(I Peter 5:8-9 NIV 1984)

I had not looked at that verse like this before, but the self-control and being alert part, is God’s caution to us, that when we are in conflicts it’s easy to get mad at the other person yet it’s really Satan intruding – not the other person.

In taking a calmer reaction, resisting the devil, we certainly can have a different perspective.  In my mind I picture the verbal wars we can have, but as we say them the devil shooting the words on his arrow at the other person – the other person speaking back more harsh words that come back to us, on the devil’s arrow.

We might raise a few more white flags . . . with our children, our husbands, the neighbor, etc.  if we resist the devil being in the middle with his arrows.

I am thankful God gives us the ability to resist the devil, and put the white flag up.

PS  ~ Lysa TerKeurst, author of  Unglued, is going to be on The Today Show on Monday (9 am EST) & Tues (10 am EST).  You can read more about this book HERE and a giveaway of it as well!

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

