Posted in Family

Five Minute Friday & 31 Days: “LOOK to the older, wiser women” {Day 19}

LOOK

start . . . 

I may have written about this awhile ago, but it’s what comes to mind.  I am in a knitting group and there’s only one other gal that is younger than me.  Most of the other women in the group are grandmothers and are at least ten years older than I am. I LOVE this group of women.  They have so much wisdom, are understanding and have been through so much.  They come from a variety of different paths of life, but all love the Lord . . .  and love knitting!  Last fall we went on a knitting store hop . . . visiting numerous stores and had lunch together.  A picture was taken of the ladies I went with.  One of my older daughters saw the picture and said, “Mom, who are these old ladies you are with?”  She told the other kids to look at the picture too! 

I told these ladies what my daughter said.  We have joked about it . . . they even embarrassed her at her wedding, telling her she is one of the “old” ladies.  We teased her too that they were going to come to the wedding and wear red hats and sit in the front row!  :)

I am thankful for the older, wiser, godly women in my life.  They have gone through the ups and downs of life, have had failures they have learned from, have had joys they delightfully share, and can give advice and wisdom.

Thus says the Lord:
“Stand by the roads, and 
look
   and ask for the ancient paths,
where the good way is; and walk in it
and find rest for your souls.
Jeremiah 6:16

No, these old ladies are not ancient . . . but I certainly can ask them what the good way is . . .  which way to walk, where to look for answers and to pray with me and for me. 

So what might God be telling us?

Look to the older, wiser,
Godly women.

She opens her mouth with wisdom,
and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue.
Proverbs 31:26

I have put them in your life.
Learn from them.

“. . .  woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”
Proverbs 31:30

“Woman, Just Believe Me”

Combining two meme’s today –
31 Days for this month and
Joining Lisa-Jo and her Five Minute Friday.
” five minutes of free writing without worrying about getting it right “

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

