Posted in Family, Meme, Woman Just Believe

31 Days: “Woman, Just Believe Me” ~ “Be Still” {Day 7}

“Be still, and know that I am God…”
Psalm 46:10

S

undays can be one of my busiest and most stressful day of the week from hitting the snooze button one too many times in the morning, to a child not being able to find shoes or socks, and a fight in the car on the way to church. I am thankful as I sit through the church service, first with the worship music that calms me and then the sermon that hits right at me, and I get revived, encouraged and strengthened.  We barely walk out of the church auditorium and our kids are going every which way, one rolls his or her eyes at me, I feel my blood pressure rising as I think of the dinner I planned for a dozen and only five are coming home.     I definitely take an afternoon nap, just about every Sunday!

If I’d just quiet down, let things go more, I know I’d do better.  If I’d quite down and listen for Him . . . I’d handle the stresses and things that really do not need to be a battle more sanely.  I am finding myself writing more and more notes during the service – even a few lyrics from a song, of course sermon notes, but even things that are meant for me during prayers – things I need to pray for and make my own, personally.

And so I hear Him telling me more and more often, not just on Sunday, but throughout the week,

 “Be still, and know that I am God…”  Psalm 46:10

And as I do, I hear Him telling in that still small voice,

Woman, just believe Me.

I can calm your heart, your fears, the tone in your home . . .
just listen, be quiet . . .

Is He wanting you in a still quiet time to trust Him?
Believe Him?

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

2 thoughts on “31 Days: “Woman, Just Believe Me” ~ “Be Still” {Day 7}

  1. I am loving this series you are writing just now, and today’s post has struck a chord within me too. It was my turn to lead our Sunday School at church today and I’ve stressed about it for days and days now, and it was only in the minutes before the session started that the words “be still and know that I am God” hit me like a train. The session ended up being as messy and noisy as ever (dontcha just love kids!!) but I was able to step outside myself and the chaos and just let the spaces be filled with God.

    Thank you for your post – it is a great reminder.

  2. Every time we try to quiet down something comes up. We can never get to that point were there is a nap on Sunday afternoons. We can have a wonderful service and as soon as the last Amen is said we are going down our list of things that has to be done before work the next day. I refresh by taking a nice bath, on the wall over my garden tub is this scripture Psalm 46:10. It is my favorite room in the house right now. Thank you for reminding me of His words. I need to trust and lean on Him more especially during these times.

Leave a Reply

