Posted in Family

Crockpot Breakfast Egg Casserole ~ YUM!

M

y slow cooker is my maid . . . and especially during the school year,  it works almost full-time for me.  

We just had a church bridal shower brunch for my daughter .  I am NOT a morning person, so for me to be at the church by 10 am with a fully cooked breakfast dish, ready to eat, was a little stressful thinking for me!  I did a quick internet search on Friday and I found several Crockpot Breakfast Casseroles.  I tried the first one on the page.  It looked easy and inexpensive to make.  

The part that concerned me was it being in the slow  cooker for 12 hours!  It seemed like a long time. But, it turned out wonderfully.  We had some leftover and my kids, especially my 5 year old son who is picky, LOVED it.  So, I thought this was a good one to share!  I did change it a bit.

I hope sharing this recipe encourages someone when life seems hectic . . . it did me!🙂

Crockpot Breakfast Casserole

Ingredients:

1 dozen eggs (I used 15 because it just did not seem like enough & turned out great)
1 cup milk
1 package (32 oz.) of frozen hash brown potatoes.
1 lb of bacon – cooked, drained and cut into pieces. (used ready-made bacon)
1 lb of sausage, browned and drained (I used breakfast sausages, cut into piecesn- so no cooking before!)
1/2 cup green onions – diced
1 green pepper – diced
3/4 pound cheddar cheese – shredded
1/4 teaspoon dry mustard
salt & pepper to taste

Directions:

1. Layer potatoes, bacon, onions, green pepper and cheese in the crockpot in two or three layers.
2. Add cheese.
3. Beat the eggs, milk and mustard, salt & pepper together.
4. Pour over the whole mixture.
5. Cook  on low for 10-12 hours or until eggs are set and thoroughly cooked.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

One thought on “Crockpot Breakfast Egg Casserole ~ YUM!

Leave a Reply

