Posted in Family

In ‘Other’ Words: “Woman, Believe Me”

undefined

 Jesus said to her,
“Woman, believe me . . .

John  4:21a (ESV)

W

hat is Jesus whispering to you, to believe?  Are the lies that you are no good, a failure, will never succeed, or you’re never going to overcome “_____ “ , so loud that you cannot hear His voice?  I hear those lies too.  I am learning, slowly, to pray through Scripture.  Here’s one I took to heart recently.

Surely goodness and mercy shall follow me
all the days of my life,
and I shall dwell in the house of the Lord forever.
Psalm 23:6

That first word, “surely“.  He does not say maybe, or perhaps, but for sure – “surely goodness and mercy”.  And not just goodness alone.  I am a sinner that so need mercy.  I am fragile and fail and need God’s goodness AND mercy.  I can believe I have His mercy to forgive me every day and His goodness to provide for me, emotionally, physically, and spiritually.

And though at times I just cannot grasp it, but He follows me with this goodness and mercy, all the time.  He does not forget me.  He followed the woman to the well.  He followed David and call him a man after His own heart.  He wept and felt forsaken just like we do. He does not just follow us, some days or sometimes.  He does not leave during our darkest times, or during our best times when we neglect Him.  He is patiently following me . . . you . . .patiently pursuing, faithfully, always present.

Sometimes it sure does not feel like goodness abounds when we get into our snits of the combats of life, yet, I can still hold on to Him,  I can believe that though I may not see Him or understand the situation right now, I can believe that despite life’s struggles, He is with me, following me very close, and someday I will understand the promise that I will dwell with Him forever.  I can believe this.

How about you?  What do you believe.  What might not be truth?  Is Jesus whispering to you, “Woman, believe me?”

Will you share your thoughts?  Either write a post on your blog and leave a link to it in the comment section, or just leave a note what God is whispering for you to believe.   This is something I am thinking of expanding more on later.  Might you join in?

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

4 thoughts on “In ‘Other’ Words: “Woman, Believe Me”

Leave a Reply

