Posted in Books, Faith, Family, REVIEW

Book Review: Shame Interrupted: How God Lifts the Pain of Worthlessness and Rejection by Edward T. Welch

I

will not be able to do this book review justice, with so much packed in the 325 pages and it being a very personal book that addresses “shame” that can attack any person from so many different angles. Shame Interrupted: How God Lifts the Pain of Worthlessness and Rejection will definitely be in my top five reads for this year.  It’s pierced my heart in a new way, even though it was actually difficult to read at times.  There’s questions after each chapter.  Many of them I just could not answer, because of the rawness and trying to “gunnysack” past pains, but after I read through the whole book and God pursuing and slowly working on things in my heart and soul, I find myself going back through it, and able to answer some of the questions a little easier.  

This paragraph from the author, Edward T. Welch,  summarizes this well:

Since shame is so painful, we could be tempted to race to the end of the story and hope to be done with it quickly.  But shame rarely responds to quick fixes.  Better to walk through the biblical story than run through it.  There is much to be learned from shame’s long history.  And this is where it first appears.  Here is the stuff of life crammed into one paragraph:  God, temptations, self-consciousness, and shame.
(page. 45)

I believe the subtitle of this book is just as important as the title. It’s not just about shame, but what shame does in our lives . . . including the worthlessness and rejection. I so appreciated the truth and theology of Jesus’ personalness towards us interwoven throughout the book.

‘You, like the Samaritan woman . . . don’t have to go into the details of your life’s shameful events either.  Before you can construct a strategy to cover them up, Jesus says, “I know what happened to you, ” or “I know what you have done.”  Immediately, you can tell He doesn’t reject you, expose you, or pull back to avoid being contaminated by you.  He just says, “Be sure to come back.” ‘

Having been questioned when I was young, when I failed and sinned, if I was really a Christian, put me in a tailspin for many years questioning my Christianity, and if once saved, always saved.  I, like many, went through numerous times, asking Jesus into my life, would fail, would doubt my Salvation and go through the “process” again.  I appreciated the way the author confirmed Salvation:

“Once washed always washed” is another way to put it.  Jesus said, “The one who has bathed does not need to wash, except for his feet, but is completely clean” (John 13:10).  This is the bath version of the Samaritan woman’s living water.  Drink the living water and you will never thirst again.  Take one bath in the living water and receive the cleansing that comes with being identified with Jesus.  You are done! You still sin and need daily washing, but dirty feet do not nullify the enduring effects of the bath.”  (page 163)

There is SO much I could quote from this book, where it touched me, but that is where God was speaking to me, and each of us are being accused by the enemy in different ways.

Mike Wilkerson, Pastor and Director of Biblical Counseling at Mars Hill Church wrote on the publisher’s Facebook page (New Growth Press).

“Ed Welch finds us hiding in our shame and draws us out to be re-clothed by Christ. He surprises us again with the deep relevance of God’s Word—even Leviticus—to the secret fears that dominate our daily lives. This brutally honest book is for everyone.”
And I definitely believe it is for everyone.  Shame Interrupted: How God Lifts the Pain of Worthlessness and Rejection would be excellent in a small group for those that are struggling, or  for a counselor, coach or two friends to go personally through together.
I see God using Shame Interrupted: How God Lifts the Pain of Worthlessness and Rejection in amazing ways for healing that comes from Him.

The author, Edward T. Welch, M.Div., Ph.D., is a licensed psychologist and faculty member at the Christian Counseling & Educational Foundation (CCEF). He has counseled for thirty years and is the best-selling author of many books, including When People Are Big and God Is Small; Addictions: A Banquet in the Grave; Blame It on the Brain?; Depression: A Stubborn Darkness; Crossroads: A Step-by-Step Guide Away from Addiction; Running Scared: Fear, Worry and the God of Rest; and When I Am Afraid: A Step-by-Step Guide Away from Fear and Anxiety. He and his wife Sheri have two daughters, two sons-in-law and four grandchildren.

I was provided a copy this book by
The B&B Media Group for my honest review.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

