Posted in Information Article, Recipe

Old Recipes & New Ones to Try

T

hings have finally calmed down here since our daughter’s wedding,  and so I did some things today that I really enjoy doing – sewing and baking.  It’s been awhile since I have done some from scratch baking and I even tried something new!  I made some bagels.  

And they turned out pretty good!  It’s a lot like making bread, but one step, after making them into the bagel shape and letting them rise for about 15 minutes, is boiling them in sugar water for 7 minutes and then baking!

I also made five loaves of whole wheat bread, and I do this all from scratch too, including grinding the wheat!  I love fresh, warm, just-out-of-the-oven bread.  And, it’s a good wholesome food for our kids.  For the whole wheat bread I use honey instead of sugar.  It’s very good!

As I was looking for the bagel recipes, I also looked at this partial recipe, which is Red Beans by Russell A. Solomon.  It’s not the full recipe, but it looks like an original from Louisiana that I would really like to try.  I imagine the recipe listed is a good start, and could be adapted for a slow cooker.   So, I will have to do some more researching on this.  It sounds like a good fall recipe!


Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

Leave a Reply

