Posted in Family

In ‘Other’ Words: Forever Held

“She is held by Emmanuel,
and while she may stumble along the way,

while she might trip in the line of His palm,
she will never fall out of His hand.”
-Hillary McFarland

I

am not sure where I first read the above quote, but it really struck my heart, and hope that it will hit the right woman who may be the “she” in this quote that needs to know without a doubt, whatever the course of your life right now, you are held by “Emmanuel” which means, God is with us.

I have just been reading an e-book,  Hope for the Weary Mom: Where God Meets You in Your Mess that I cannot recommend enough for the “weary mom”.  It came to me at just the right time . . . and it’s written so personally with such realness.  (It’s only 99 cents on Amazon!)  So, I had picked out the above quote several weeks ago, and then just this past week started reading this book, which is like a letter to us moms.  Here’s a part that I thought went along with the above quote:
“Are you weary, friend? Do you feel you don’t measure up?  Do you know HER?  Does she seem to point her finger at you, as well?  Nothing keeps us weary like the illusion that everyone else has it all together.  I’m pretty sure they don’t.  But in the moment, when SHE shows up, I know I am easily convinced. What if, in that moment, instead of listening to HER, we cried out to Him? He who is waiting to strengthen us, and not judge.  He is Hope.  And surely, He will come running.”
Hope for the Weary Mom: Where God Meets You in Your Mess
I love the visualization of the top quote.  To know we are held in His hand.  Yes, we stumble and fall, make wrong decisions, get consumed with the things around us and neglect God – neglect to pray or read His words to us, and yet He continues to pursue us, not letting us slip out of His hand.
Look, on my palms
I’ve inscribed you . . .
Isaiah 49:16 
What about you?  Do you feel held by God?  Do you know someone who needs encouragement that she is held by Him?  Share your thoughts on your blog on the top quote and then come back here and leave a link in the comment section.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

One thought on “In ‘Other’ Words: Forever Held

  1. That was a great quote. I was and sometimes am that “Her” in the quote. There’s a lot of people both men and women out there that needs to know the truth in that quote. That they are held in the hands of God. Its an awesome thought and feeling to know that. I would recommend it over and over again to anyone and everyone. Thanks for hosting today, it was good. I don’t see Mr. Linky yet so my writing can be found as you know at http://www.karijofluffy.blogspot.com Karen

Leave a Reply

