Posted in Family

Five Minute Friday: “SEE” PEACE

SEE 

start . . . 

I was really hoping when I opened the page to Gypsy Mama tonight, that the word would be “PEACE“.  But it wasn’t, and I was rather disappointed.  You see, God planted that word in my heart almost two weeks ago – something to strive for – and something to ask for.  So when I read the word, “SEE” I was bummed a few short seconds, and then this verse immediately came to mind:

See
I have engraved you on the palms of my hands;
your walls are ever before me.
Isaiah 49:16 

 And it all falls together – I can write how God did see me, heard me, and showed me peace and without a doubt He showed me again, even now,  how I am written on the palm of His hand.

Our first daughter married on Saturday.  It turned out to be a beautiful wedding and everything turned out wonderfully.  But we had our struggles getting to this day.  We are alike in so many ways.  It’s hard when I see myself reflected in her . . . the good and bad.  So, we clashed, we fought, we said things and we struggled keeping peace . . . and then there were times we’ve been very close.  The desires of both of our hearts were to have a beautiful wedding and make wonderful memories.  A week or so before the wedding, I fervently began praying for peace.  I shared with a couple ladies at church the week before, specifically asking them to pray for peace.  We needed a good special week. And, by God’s grace it was, and there were no major conflicts and things fell together.

The morning of my daughter’s wedding a friend came over to do my other girls’ hair and she brought me a gift . . . a gift she meant to give me at Christmas time!  And it had Christmas wrapping paper on it . . . and it said “PEACE” all over it!  Tiffany apologized to me numerous times for giving it to me so late, and I told her she gave it to me at the right time – God’s time!!  It was perfect – and just a confirmation from God that I could see, so personally, how He is pursuing me.   (And the gift was beautiful too – she made a picture for our wall – a family tree with all our names on it!)

The next day at church, Ephesians 2 was read, and the word “PEACE” was mentioned numerous times and several songs we sang had the word “PEACE” in it.  God allowed testing to come several times in this past week, when I thought things would really fall apart, and I am learning to give more over to HIM instead of handling it myself, and PEACE has still lingered, several times in ways I never expected the outcome to be so peaceful!  Such an answer to prayer!

So you see, I’m finding how God is working in me again . . . showing me PEACE . . . and how He is purifying me . . .

Taste and see
that the Lord is good;
blessed is the man who takes refuge in him.
Ps. 34:8

finish . . .

Joining Gypsy Mama and her Five Minute Friday.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

6 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: “SEE” PEACE

  1. Great post, Loni! Finding peace & seeing can sometimes be two different things! I am swinging by from the Gypsy Mama! I hope your daughters wedding was beautiful!

  2. oh those sweet kisses from God…love it. When my daughter got married…I was not really prepared for the emotional roller coaster it would take me on…I think the engaged period is hard no matter how good the relationship is…I can say…I enjoy my married kids better than engagement process. The best is still ahead…and just wait until they give you that first grandlove…joy…joy~

  3. Your words speak loud and clear, as I fight back the tears. My daughter will marry in just 3 weeks. And we’ve walked the road of struggle, and right now, we are struggling financially. Would you pay for us? That everything will come together as perfectly as God had planned it to? So thankful for the peace that He brought to you!

  4. I just came across your blog through “Five Minute Friday”….last week and this you wrote about your daughter’s wedding. My posts were also about my daughter’s wedding. It seems they shared a wedding day! I’m glad we weren’t the only emotional mother/daughter combo! We actually get along well probably because she and I are so opposite. But it was a very emotional week no matter what. Thanks for sharing your story!

Leave a Reply

