Posted in Five Minute Friday

Five Minute Friday: IDENTITY

IDENTITY 

start . . . 

As a kid growing up I questioned my  identity.
Who did I look like?  If I had siblings, did I look like any of them?
Did my mom or dad have dark eyes like mine?
Why would a mother give up her child?

When my first child was born,
I felt like my identity was developing.
I held the first being that was blood related to me.
Some told me he looked like me.
Shortly later I met my birth parents.
I looked the most like my dad,
and even more like a younger sister.

But my childhood  identity was really with the parents who
brought me up – through the good and bad.

My identity now is so many things.
I’m a wife, married almost 28 years.
I’m a mom to a dozen children.
I’m a mom-in-law two one daughter,
and soon, two sons.
I’m a mom to two children in heaven.
I’m a writer, blogger, book reviewer.

But this all really is not my lasting  identity.

I am a child of a King.
I am called His Beloved,
I am valued by Him.
My name is permanently written in His book,
never to be crossed out –
never to be rejected.
Never to be disowned.
I am loved.
I am chosen.
He calls me by name- I am His.

An an ambassador in the Kingdom of Heaven.

I am
 called,
loved by God the Father
and kept safe by Jesus Christ.

This is my true identity.

finish . . .

Don’t miss my Mother’s Day giveaway . . . 
a personalized birthstone glass locket.

Joining Gypsy Mama and her Five Minute Friday.

Author:

Beloved KEPT Child of Jesus stumbling by faith ~ Married 30 years ~ Blessed Mama of 10 beside me & 2 at Jesus' feet ~ "Retired" homeschool mama of 22 years ~ Writer * Blogger * Reviewer ~

5 thoughts on “Five Minute Friday: IDENTITY

  1. Beautiful, you are indeed! Thank you for writing this today. For sharing your story in the larger scope of God’s love story. My heart rejoices and I thank God with you, for you too.

  2. So … you were adopted quite young? Did you struggle with that. I have 3 adult step-kids whose mother walked out of their lives at 3,2,and newborn. My husband and I raised the older 2. The youngest was adopted by an aunt. The older two are both, in their 30s, still really struggling with who they are. I suspect that a lot of that comes from being “abandoned.” Even though they were raised in a loving two-parent home and my husband and I have now been married 33 years! Anyway .. I pray, daily, that they will learn, deep in their hearts, who they are in Christ … and how precious they are to us! Right now they can’t hear it!

    Your blog is beautiful! LOVE the daisies!

  3. I love reading your heart, Loni. (and ambassador was the word I was looking for while typing my five minute write…so glad you put that in there as yes! we are His…) Happy Mother’s Day to you, friend! Enjoy — you are worth celebrating🙂 (off to check out your great giveaway)

Leave a Reply

